Streaming Video Collections

Free Streaming Video Sites

Many websites provide free access to streaming videos. These sites may host content or merely point to content hosted elsewhere. Advertising supports some of these sites. Others are the official site for a producer, distributor, series, or festival.

Featured Free Collections

TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design

Over 1400 of the best talks to stir your curiosity about technology, entertainment and design.

Khan Academy

Offers practical exercises and instructional videos across math, science, computer programming, history, art history, and economics.

Moving Image Archive

An assortment of videos including classic feature films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, ephemera, archival footage, educational and industrial films, classic sports videos, television, and way more.

Frontline

View complete episodes of a selection of films from the acclaimed series. Frontline offers an unflinching and compelling look at complex, vital and often-controversial subjects.

Free Access Streaming Video Sites

• American Indian Film Gallery - University of Arizona resource contains vintage films listed by tribe.
• American Memory - This project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures.
• American Rhetoric - Features a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches.
• Archive of American Television - Provides access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. 
• Art21 - Art in the 21st Century is a PBS series, educational resource, archive, and history of contemporary art.
• Civil Rights Digital Library - Provides access to online films related to the United States Civil Rights movement in the 1950's and 1960's. 
• Documentary Heaven - A searchable archive of full-length documentary films in a variety of subject areas.​
• Documentary Tube - Another searchable archive of documentary films.
• Free Documentaries - Offers a wide variety of documentaries by independent film makers from around the world.
• Free Movies Online - Over 1,150 quality films that you can watch online. 
• Frontline - This acclaimed series offers an unflinching and compelling look at complex, vital and often-controversial subjects.
• Health Library Online - The Stanford Health Library provides a collection of online videos covering various health topics, including health and society, cancer support, and women's health.
• Hippo Campus - Links to several collections of OER videos, including Khan Academy, NROC, PHET and Earth Science Multimedia.
• International Monetary Fund - A searchable archive of videos produced by the IMF. 
• Khan Academy - practical exercises and instructional videos across math, science, computer programming, history, economics, etc.
• Lannan Foundation - Provides access to 15 years of event recordings and interviews with notable authors, scholars, and activists.
• Movie Clips - An astonishing compilation of tens of thousands of feature film clips. 
• Moving Image Archive - An assortment of videos from classic feature films to concerts, educational films, tv, and classic sports videos.
• National Film Board of Canada - Offers documentaries, animated film, and more. Browse channels for history, biography, and the arts.
• PBS Video - Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series. NOTE: Some content now requires a PBS membership for extended access to on-demand content through Passport.
• Plunkett Research - The award-winning resource for market research, industry trends analysis, business commentary, and industry statistics in affordable, easy-to-use online access and reference book formats.
• RTVE.es A La Carta - RTVE.es is the Spanish public broadcasting company and it provides free online streaming for a wide variety of its films, documentaries and television programming.
• TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design - Over 1400 of the best talks to stir your curiosity about technology, entertainment and design.
• Top Documentary Films - Another searchable archive of documentary films.
• Thanhouser Films Online - More than 50 films provide a representative cross section of the output produced by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York between 1910 and 1917.
• Travel Film Archive - A collection of travelogues and educational and industrial films that show the world the way it was between 1900 through 1970.
• TV News - The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they first appear.
• Vimeo: Documentary Films Channel - Vimeo's documentary-specific channel.
• YouTube: Documentary Channel - Youtube's documentary-specific channel.