Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff: Info for Faculty & Staff

LEARNING SUPPORT

Information Literacy & Instruction Program

Taylor Memorial Library's reference librarians teach students to become mindful consumers of information. Through foundational information literacy (IL) learning and personal attention throughout their academic career, students learn to seek quality answers to satisfy their intellectual curiosities.
 

 Learn more about our Instruction Program

To schedule a library session, please contact Sara Lauren Purifoy, Instruction Librarian, at sara.purifoy@centenaryuniversity.edu.
 

Links for Students

Course Reserves

Faculty/Staff may designate items (either from the library collection or your personal copy) to be Course Reserves, and thus only available for use within the library or for limited periods of time, so as to maximize student access to that resource.

 See what's on Reserve

 

Open Educational Resources

Learn more about finding, adopting, and creating OERs

 See our guide to OERs

COLLECTIONS & ACCESS

Our Collections

  • 140+ Online Research Databases
    (for article searches, primary sources, reports, dissertations, etc.)
  • 40+ Print Magazines & Newspapers - across from Service Desk
  • 180,000+ Ebooks
  • 40,000+ print books, including:
    • Academic collection - Quiet Study Area
    • New Books - Display next to Service Desk
    • Fiction - West Wing (next to DVD Room)
    • Teen Fiction - West Wing
    • Children's Books - West Wing
    • Curriculum collection - West Wing
    • Graphic Novels & Manga - DVD Room
    • Irish Studies collection - between DVD Room & Instruction Room
  • 2,000+ DVDs
    • Popular Movies - DVD Room
    • Academic Films - Quiet Study Area (interfiled with books)
  • Centenary University Archives:
    Search or Browse Digital Archives
    • Yearbooks (The Hack)
    • Student Newspapers (The Quill + previous iterations)
    • Alumni Publications
    • Course Catalogs
    • Photos, documents, artwork, and artifacts

Borrowing

 See more on Borrowing


Interlibrary Loan

If you find that Taylor Memorial Library does not own or have access to a particular book, article, or DVD, please make use of our free Interlibrary Loan service. We will submit your request to our network of cooperating libraries, and let you know when a copy is available. If you are seeking an article, it will be emailed to you as a PDF when we receive it.

 See more on Interlibrary Loan


EVENTS & SPACES

The library enjoys playing host to a variety of events (library-sponsored as well as non-library-sponsored) throughout the year. Our Public Events Schedule is available on our website, though it does not show library instruction sessions scheduled by faculty, nor does it show class use of library space.

If you would like to schedule an event in the library, please send the details of your request to library@centenaryuniversity.edu


PHOTOCOPIER

There is a photocopier for faculty and staff use located on the library's lower level. The room requires your Centenary ID card to access.