Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY-1205 Nature of Work - Mental Health

Additional Databases

Databases A-Z List

This page lists all of the library's databases in - you guessed it, alphabetical order. Filter by subject to see a list of databases most useful for that subject.

Subject Guides

Deciding Where to Search


Social & Behavioral Science Databases

Database Platform Description Access
PsycINFO EBSCO PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is the premier research database for discovering peer-reviewed articles in the behavioral sciences and mental health fields. PsycINFO is an index/abstract only database. It will help you discover the existence of relevant articles, but it does not contain the full text - though it may link you to it in PsycARTICLES or another database. Subscription
SocINDEX with Full Text EBSCO SocINDEX with Full Text is a robust full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines, including social work, gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, and religion. Subscription
Social Work Abstracts Ovid A key starting point for research in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts covers over 500 scholarly journals (US-based and international), dating from 1968 - Present. Social Work Abstracts is an index/abstract only database. It will help you discover the existence of relevant articles, but it does not contain the full text. Subscription
PubMed PubMed.gov PubMed is produced and made publicly available by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a division of the United States National Library of Medicine. PubMed is made up of MEDLINE and PubMed Central. These are essential research tools for searching the biomedical literature, including the behavioral sciences. MEDLINE is also searchable via Cyclone Search. MEDLINE is an index/abstract only database; however, many articles are published open access via PubMed Central. Public Access

Multidisciplinary Databases / Cross-Searching

Database Platform Description Access
Cyclone Search EBSCO Cyclone Search is TML's discovery search tool, reaching across both physical and digital materials. It includes all of our print collection and much (though not all) of our digital subscriptions. Advantages to searching Cyclone Search are that you cover a lot of ground with one search, and potentially save time. Though this also works as a disadvantage in some cases, in that some content or providers can get lost in a large search result set. Cyclone Search includes our Ebsco Ebook Collection, as well as Research Starters background articles. Cyclone Search includes the MEDLINE index, as mentioned above under PubMed. Subscription
ProQuest Central ProQuest ProQuest Central is a vast, multidisciplinary database, made up of a number of subsets or smaller databases (including several social science journal collections). It covers nearly any discipline and contains a variety of formats - though it contains a substantial number of scholarly journals, ProQuest Central is also a great place to find dissertations and theses, and newspaper articles. Subscription