LibGuides: Social Work: Getting Started

Getting Started: Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
ERIC.ED.GOV This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window

Scholarly Journals

Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Social Sciences]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand the subcategory [Social pathology. Social and public welfare.] Click on the category or a subcategory, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Scholarly Journals in Print

Literature Reviews

Social Work Literature Review Guidelines
From Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL), this page offers general guidelines for writing literature reviews in Social Work.

Library of Congress Classification

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Counseling   BF637
Social Work   Subclass HN, HV
Social Welfare   Subclass HV
Social Services   HV40-69
General Social Problems
   Subclass HN
Social Welfare Problems
   Subclass HN
Criminology   HV6001-7220
Criminal Justice Issues
   HV6001-9960
Penal & Related Institutions
   HV8301-9920

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and many of our databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts. ProQuest databases are NOT included.

This box searches across Ebsco's article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, Education Source, PsycARTICLES and Sociology Index with Full Text. These databases are also searched via Cyclone Search.

Having trouble accessing full text articles in EBSCO / Cyclone Search?

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. Content includes scholarly articles as well as newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc. These databases are not included in Cyclone Search.

Look Up a DOI Access & Troubleshooting

Journal Title Search will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through the library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles.

Look Up a DOI Access & Troubleshooting

Search the library catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.

New Books & DVDs More Search Options Course Reserves List Renew Items

Ebsco Ebook Collection provides access to over 260,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects.

Check the table of contents to determine which chapters are most relevant, or search within the book to find a word or phrase. Read them online, or sign up for a My EBSCO Account to download for offline reading.

Access & Troubleshooting

JSTOR logo Centenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.

Link to Digital Archives on JSTOR

University Archives

EBOOKS

Professional Writing for Social Work Practice

This invaluable guide helps social workers develop the writing skills necessary for a successful career. Actual examples drawn from all arenas of social work demonstrate strong and problematic writing.

Critiquing Personality Disorder

In order to work effectively with people with personality disorders it is important that Mental Health Social Workers (MHSWs) have a clear understanding of trauma and its impact on the person. This book explores personality disorder from a social work perspective.

Trauma : Contemporary Directions in Trauma Theory, Research, and Practice

"This comprehensive anthology incorporates the latest research in trauma theory and clinical applications, with a focus on the experiences of historically disenfranchised, marginalized, oppressed, and vulnerable groups."

School Consultation for Student Success

Featuring an evidence-based, cognitive-behavioral framework for delivering collaborative consultation in K-12 schools, this new book promotes the idea of equitable educational opportunities for all students.

Demystifying Criminal Justice Social Work in India

This compilation explores the scope of responsibilities undertaken by social workers in the field of criminal law in India when dealing with clients who are either offenders or victims of crime.

Narrative in Social Work Practice: The power and possibility of story

"Contributors describe innovative and effective narrative interventions with a wide range of individuals, families, and groups facing a variety of life challenges.

Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families: Culturally Responsive Practice

"This textbook summarizes the unique circumstances of different immigrant and refugee populations and the challenges faced by the social service systems, including child welfare, juvenile justice, education, health, and mental health care, that attempt to serve them."

The Costs of Courage: Combat Stress, Warriors, and Family Survival

"The authors introduce social workers and other helping professionals to the dynamic warrior culture of the US military and their families and provides practitioners with the cultural competence necessary to successfully interact with members of this culture."

Critical Multicultural Social Work

" In addition to presenting the history of diversity as well as a basic framework for evaluating the issue, the authors guide practitioners through enlightened self-reflection to encourage awareness and sensitivity as they work with clients."

Solution-Focused Case Management

"Replete with strategies and tools for practicing solution-focused case management, the text describes such essential skills as identifying goals, monitoring progress, working with other agencies, and transitioning out of treatment."

Home- and Community-Based Services for Older Adults

"Examines the existing and emerging models of home- and community-based services (HCBS) for older adults, including the history, theory, research, policy, and practices across care settings.

The Future of Social Work: Seven pillars of practice

"Discusses seven new algorithms of social practice that challenge the existing model of social work education and offers a new perspective for radical transformation of the entire system."

BOOKS IN PRINT

Techniques and Guidelines for Social Work Practice

"This book offers insight into the social worker’s professional roles, guiding principles, and the importance of evidence-based practice."

Handbook of Military Social Work

"Handbook of Military Social Work is edited by renowned leaders in the field, with contributions from social work professionals drawing from their wealth of experience working with veterans, active duty military, and their families."

Social Work Matters

"This compilation explores the transition from micro-level service—working directly to improve the lives of individuals—to the macro-level work of altering our social systems and institutions through broad social action and advocacy."

Social Work Documentation: a guide to strengthening your case recording

"Social Work Documentation is a how-to guide for social work students and practitioners interested in good record keeping and improving their documentation skills."

Culture, Values and Ethics in Social Work: Embracing Diversity

"This groundbreaking book examines the ways in which questions of culture and diversity impact on the values and ethics of social work. Featuring detailed case studies to illustrate key points for practice."

Social Work Practice Research for the Twenty-First Century

"This collection reviews the task-centered model and other contemporary Evidence-Based Practice models for working with individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations."

The Not Good Enough Mother

"In the best interests of the child, psychologist Sharon Lamb, determines whether children should remain with their parents or be freed for adoption, and in so doing, comes to question what we know about addiction, attachment, and good enough mothering."

Social Work in Rural Communities

"Rural social workers face special problems related to their work locations, such as professional isolation, lack of supervision, the almost inevitable existence of dual relationships, and the different scale and emphases of life in small communities."

Social Work and Family Violence

"This innovative textbook comprehensively discusses three types of family violence: child abuse and maltreatment, intimate partner violence, and elder abuse."

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item