LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Platform: Google Scholar Google Scholar is Google's attempt to index the scholarly literature that can be found on the web. It links to freely available articles on publisher websites, author websites, institutional repositories, and pre-print servers, as well as reports, online books, and other scholarly material online. In some ways it can be easier to search than subscription databases, in that it is better able to process a natural language search. Because it searches so much, and because there are very few filters included, it can also be more difficult to sort through the results. *Be sure to set up the Library Links to Centenary's full text subscriptions.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window Platform: HeinOnline  User Guide HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 178 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides full-text articles of academic interest to ecological or botanical studies and language or literature studies. Limited full-text access to other subject areas is available, and citation access is available for many subject areas.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s): formerly Legal Information Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Explora | Provided by the NJ State Library Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, this valuable resource contains hundreds of publications and thousands of multi-state forms to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.
Lexis Nexis Academic This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): Lexis Nexis has been renamed. It is now known as Nexis Uni. Platform: Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The legal component also includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Company Profiles provide access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.
Mental Health & Wellbeing Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest Ebook Central The Mental Health & Wellbeing Ebook Collection offers: Over 4,800 highly curated, in-demand titles covering key topics related to psychology research and student wellbeing, including Social and Clinical Psychology, Psychotherapy and Neuropsychology, Stress Management, Counselling, Mental Health and Personal Growth Recent content - more than two-thirds of titles published in the last decade Unique material - previously not available by subscription from major academic publishers, including Taylor & Francis, Springer and Oxford University Press
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): NCJRS Virtual Library The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library contains bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 230,000 collection resources and over 80,000 online materials, including all known Office of Justice Programs' works. Use the search filters and sorting options to narrow down your results from the Abstracts Database.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): Formerly called LexisNexis Academic Platform: Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The legal component also includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Company Profiles provide access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Points of View Reference Center Platform: EBSCO POVRS | Provided by the NJ State Library Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument), as well as a Guide to Critical Analysis.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): APA PsycARTICLES Platform: ProQuest PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): APA PsycINFO Platform: ProQuest The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window Platform: Reference Solutions | Provided by the NJ State Library Reference Solutions contains business and consumer research related to the United States and Canada, including new and existing businesses, new and existing home owners, new movers and dentists and physicians. Helpful for conducting job searches and researching companies. Provided by NJ State Library.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

View full list of criminal justice databases

Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The legal component also includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Company Profiles provide access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.

Scholarly Journals

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Criminal Justice topics

Library of Congress Classifications

Social Problems   HN1-995
Criminology   HV1-9960
Law   Class K
Public Administration   K3150
Criminal Investigation
   KZ183-183.5
Medical Science   R5-920
Medical Instruments   R885-885.5
Pharmacology   RM1-950
Medical Chemistry   RS400-431

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

Guilty People

In Guilty People, law professor and longtime criminal defense attorney Abbe Smith gives us a thoughtful and honest look at guilty individuals on trial. Each chapter tells compelling stories about real cases she handled; some of her clients were guilty of only petty crimes and misdemeanors, while others committed offenses as grave as rape and murder.

Imagining the International

Through an analysis of archival and contemporary data, Imagining the International provides a detailed picture of how ideas of international crime (crimes against all of humanity) and global justice are given content, foregrounding their ethical limits and potentials.

Criminal Procedure and Punishment

Criminal Procedure and Punishment provides a holistic overview of the English and Welsh system of criminal justice, from the earliest stages of arrest and investigation through to the punishment and release of offenders.

The Justice Dilemma

Abusive leaders are now held accountable for their crimes in a way that was unimaginable just a few decades ago. What are the consequences of this recent push for international justice?

BOOKS IN PRINT

Tangled up in Blue

A radical inside examination of policing in modern America, from a Georgetown University law professor turned reserve police office.

Charged

A renowned investigative journalist exposes the unchecked power of the prosecutor as a driving force in America's mass incarceration crisis, and also offers a way out.

The Nonsense Factory

An examination of how over the past eighty years the legal system has increasingly confused quantity with quality and might with legitimacy.

Decarcerating America

Mass incarceration will end--there is an emerging consensus that we've been locking up too many people for too long. But with more than 2.2 million Americans behind bars right now, how do we go about bringing people home?

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item