LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Criminology

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Ebsco Ebooks: Criminology

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Platform: JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources related to Arts, Humanities, and Sciences. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. The JSTOR Understanding Series: Linking Original Works to ScholarshipJSTOR Text Analyzer: Use a Document to Search for Similar DocumentsOrganize your Research with JSTOR WorkspaceInterview Archive: King in the Wilderness - Oral history of the last years of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.JSTOR Daily
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s): formerly Legal Information Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Explora | Provided by the NJ State Library Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, this valuable resource contains hundreds of publications and thousands of multi-state forms to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): Formerly called LexisNexis Academic Platform: Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The legal component also includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Company Profiles provide access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window Platform: Reference Solutions | Provided by the NJ State Library Reference Solutions contains business and consumer research related to the United States and Canada, including new and existing businesses, new and existing home owners, new movers and dentists and physicians. Helpful for conducting job searches and researching companies. Provided by NJ State Library.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): APA PsycARTICLES Platform: ProQuest PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): APA PsycINFO Platform: ProQuest The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

View full list of criminal justice databases

Scholarly Journals

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Criminal Justice topics

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

The Pleasure of Punishment

Based on a reading of contemporary philosophical arguments, this book accounts for how punishment has provided audiences with pleasure in different historical contexts.

Criminal Futures

This book explores how predictive policing transforms police work.

In this book, Douglas J. Flowe interrogates the meaning of crime and violence in the lives of these men, whose lawful conduct itself was often surveilled and criminalized, by focusing on what their actions and behaviors represented to them.

A Date with the Hangman

A true-crime history of 20th-century, British judicial hangings from 1900 to 1964, and a look at the overall history of executions in Great Britain.

BOOKS IN PRINT

In My Father's House

Examining the long history of the Bogles, a white family, Butterfield offers a revelatory look at criminality that forces us to disentangle race from our ideas about crime and, in doing so, strikes at the heart of our deepest stereotypes.

Insane

In America, having a mental illness has become a crime. One in four fatal police shootings involves a person with mental illness. The country's three largest providers of mental health care are not hospitals, but jails. As many as half the people in US jails and prisons have a psychiatric disorder.

Chokehold

Cops, politicians, and ordinary people are afraid of black men. The result is the Chokehold: laws and practices that treat every African American man like a thug.

The Anatomy of Violence

In this book a pioneering neuro-criminologist introduces the latest biological research into the causes of, and potential cures for, criminal behavior.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item