Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: Getting Started

Scholarly Journals

Browse sociology journals by subject
Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Social Sciences]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand a subcategory, e.g. [Sociology (General)], [Communities. Classes. Races], etc. Click on the category or a subcategory, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Library of Congress Classification

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Social Sciences   Class H
Anthropology   GN1-890
Social Interaction   Subclass GN
Factors Affecting Social Behavior   GF1-900
Social Groups   Subclass GN
Culture and Institutions   Subclass GN
Communities   HT51-1595
Human Rights   JC571-626
Law   Class K
Public Administration   Subclass JF, JS
Social Problems   Subclass HN

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and many of our databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts.

Limit Your Results
 

This box searches across Ebsco's article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, Education Source, PsycARTICLES and Sociology Index with Full Text.
Note - these databases are also searchable via Cyclone Search.

Limit Your Results
Access & Troubleshooting

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. Content includes articles that are peer-reviewed as well as newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, company profiles, industry reports, etc.  Note - these databases are not included in Cyclone Search.

Includes Dissertations & Theses at Centenary University, ProQuest Central article collections for all subjects, current newspapers as well as historical newspapers (with New York Times and Wall Street Journal among many others).

Access & Troubleshooting

Journal Title Search will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through Taylor Memorial Library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles.

Enter title (e.g. journal of cell biology) or keyword (e.g. business) or ISSN (e.g. 0425-1644)
Limit Your Results

Periodicals in Print    Look Up a DOI    Access & Troubleshooting

Search the library catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.


New Books & DVDs    More Search Options    Course Reserves List    Renew Items

Ebsco Ebook Collection provides access to over 180,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects and includes powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information you find.

Check the table of contents to determine which chapters are most relevant. Read them online, or sign up for a MyEbscohost Account to download a temporary ePub or PDF version to read offline.


Access & Troubleshooting

Centenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.


The Divided City

"Mallach shows us what has happened over the past 15 to 20 years in industrial cities like Pittsburgh, Detroit, Cleveland, and Baltimore, as they have undergone unprecedented, unexpected revival."

Theory for the Working Sociologist

"Rojas argues that sociologists use four different theoretical 'moves' when they try to explain the social world: how groups defend their status, how people strategically pursue their goals, how values and institutions support each other, and how people create their social reality."

Contemporary Sociological Thinkers and Theories

"The author provides not only a rigorous exposition of each theory, but also an examination of the scholarly reception of the approach in question, considering both critical responses and defences in order to reach a balanced evaluation."

The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods

"Provides students and researchers with the most comprehensive resource covering core methods, research designs, and data collection, management, and analysis issues."

Black Women and Social Justice Education

"Linking historical accounts with groundbreaking contributions by new and rising leaders in the field, it examines, evaluates, establishes, and reinforces Black women's commitment to social justice in education at all levels."

Building Blocs: How Parties Organize Society

"Exposes political parties as the most influential agencies that structure social cleavages and invites further critical investigation of the related consequences."

The Scholar Denied: W. E. B. Du Bois and the Birth of Modern Sociology

"In this groundbreaking book, Aldon D. Morris's ambition is truly monumental: to help rewrite the history of sociology and to acknowledge the primacy of W. E. B. Du Bois's work in the founding of the discipline."

Interactional Studies of Qualitative Research Interviews

"These studies explore the interactional details of how the identities of researchers and their participants matter for the generation of interview data."

Encyclopedia of Research Design

"Explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results."

The Max Weber Dictionary: Key Words and Central Concepts, 2nd ed

"The authors include new entries designed to help researchers use Weber's ideas in their own work; they illuminate how Weber himself thought theorizing should occur and how he went about constructing a theory.

Global Perspectives on ADHD

Global Perspectives on ADHD is the first book to examine how this expanding public health concern is diagnosed and treated in 16 different countries. In some countries, readers learn, over 10% of school-aged children and adolescents are diagnosed with ADHD; in others, that figure is less than 1%.

Doing Your Research Project: A Guide for First-time Researchers

Designed for "for students across the social sciences conducting small scale research projects."

Demarginalizing Voices: Commitment, Emotion, and Action in Qualitative Research

Discusses what it means to actually engage in qualitative research with marginalized populations, including Aboriginal peoples, sex workers, the dead and the dying, the imprisoned or recently released, and the homeless and hospitalized.

Encyclopedia of Sociology Research

Covers recent "research and findings in the study of sociology. Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorizing and the construction of knowledge."

Research in the Sociology of Education

By exploring national and regional situations and then placing them within this broader context, readers are able to see both the commonality and uniqueness of educational issues around the globe.

Anthropology and Civilizational Analysis

This volume brings social and cultural anthropologists into dialogue with historical sociology and illustrates the continued potential of the concept of civilization for all participants.

BOOKS IN PRINT

Tightrope: Americans reaching for hope

Kristoff's personal stories are representative of many places the authors write about, ranging from the Dakotas and Oklahoma to New York and Virginia. These accounts provide a picture of working-class families needlessly but profoundly damaged as a result of decades of policy mistakes.

Start by Believing

Barr and Murphy tell the full devastating story of former physician Larry Nassar's serial abuse of America's elite gymnasts and others -- for over a quarter century.

The Heritage: Black athletes, a divided America, and the politics of patriotism

"The Heritage is the story of sports post-9/11, once neutral but now embedded with deference toward the military and police, colliding with the political reawakening of the black athlete in post-Ferguson America."

American Like Me: Reflections on life between cultures

"This vibrant and varied collection of essays contains first person accounts about the experience of growing up between cultures. Ferrera has edited together the stories of immigrants, children or grandchildren of immigrants, indigenous people, or people who otherwise grew up with deep and personal connections to more than one culture."

CEO Society: The corporate takeover of everyday life

"We now live in a CEO society-a society where corporate leadership has become the model for transforming not just business, but all spheres of life, where everyone from politicians to jobseekers to even those seeking love are expected to imitate the qualities of the lionized corporate executive."

Our Towns: A 100,000-Mile Journal into the Heart of America

"Our Towns is the story of the Fallows' journey--an account of their visits to twenty-one cities and towns: the individuals they met, the stories they heard, and their portrait of the many different faces of the American future."

Selfie: how we became so self-obsessed and what it's doing to us

"We are living in an age of heightened individualism. To explain how we got here, award-winning journalist Will Storr takes us on a journey across continents and centuries to explore the origins of this notion of the perfect self that torments so many of us: Where does this ideal come from? Why is it so powerful?"

Downhill from Here

A sharp examination of the troubled state of retirement in America shares sobering insights into how the real estate crash and limited social security are preventing retirement and inducing widespread poverty in aging Baby Boomers.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.


Request Item