Sociology: Web Resources

The membership of the society includes administrators, scholars and teachers.

Information about this national organization, its publications, employment resources, data resources and research and funding opportunities.

This organization provides a forum for information and cooperation for communities. The website contains issues, surveys and legislative priorities. They also lobby for communities.

This is an advocacy organization for the nation’s cities. Its website contains news, reports and legislative initiatives.

ANES produces high-quality data from our surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.

Provides state and local income information.

Contains a vast archive of social science data.

"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data - Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."

Statistics compiled for Europe for a number of areas, including population and social conditions.

Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spendi​ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

Explore data collections compiled by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.

Provides statistics that are useful for social research.

Contains links to a number of population studies.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

Offers a variety of statistics used in social research.

"The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

Free and open datasets, covering a range of themes including economy, education, labor, trade, social development and protections, health, infrastructure, and climate change.

Offering worldwide health data.

This federal organization administers the distribution of federal funds and its website provides information about issues related to children and families.

Provides information about child abuse.

Child Trends is an organization that focuses on researching children’s issues.

This website is statistical in nature and provides key national indicators for children’s well being.

This study is published by the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research. It began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States. Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics.

Faculty and graduate students evaluated certain websites and deemed them trustworthy.

Information on aging for older people, their families and those who work with the older person.

Full-text articles on topics in sociology.

A website that provides descriptions of the practices of world religions.

Part of a PBS series that explores issues surrounding social class and status.

The Society Pages (TSP) is an open-access social science project headquartered in the Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota and supported by individual donors.

The American Red Cross helps communities prepare for and respond to emergencies.

An international humanitarian organization that operates in nearly 60 countries and assists people whose survival is threatened by violence, neglect or catastrophe.

This organization is dedicated to defending human rights worldwide. Many global issues are discussed.

UNICEF is an organization that promotes children's rights.

Summaries of United Nations Agreements on Human Rights.

Articles and information dealing with mental health issues.

A clearing house for international meetings on environment and development.