Skip to Main Content

TML in Ten: Must Know Library Facts

A bite-sized orientation to the services, spaces, and people of Taylor Memorial Library.

1. BORROWING

We have books for both research AND personal reading. Our fiction, children’s and academic sections are always growing. We also have popular DVDs you can borrow and ebooks to download. Print magazines are available to browse in the library. You’re sure to find something you’ll enjoy!

See more on Borrowing

Access your Library Account:  opac.centenaryuniversity.edu

  • Username: Your Centenary ID name (smithm OR mary.smith)
  • Password: The last four digits of the barcode number on your ID card

2. RESEARCH

Academic research goes beyond a simple Google search. It is a flexible, non-linear process that requires you to think critically and seek quality answers to your questions using a variety of tools.  Although research can sometimes be confusing and frustrating, it can also be very rewarding once the tools and methods become familiar. All it takes is a little bit of practice and patience! It’s easy to make an appointment with one of our librarians for help. They are available to meet with students who need research help with any subject area, in small groups or one-on-one. Visit our website to schedule an appointment today!

Learn more at Research 101

3. TECHNOLOGY & PRINTING

Documents can be sent to the printer from any computer or device on campus with PaperCut Print Software installed. You can print to campus printers from Chromebooks, tablets, smartphones, and personal computers or laptops. Printing is available 24/7 via the "CENT-Print_Anywhere" Printer in the Library's vestibule. 

Learn more about printing here 

4. INTERLIBRARY LOAN

In case we don’t have a book or journal article you are looking for, you can request it from a participating library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Visit our website to fill out an ILL request form.

See more on Interlibrary Loan 

   Borrow Books & Media

Most books or DVDs arrive within two weeks.

   Get PDFs of journal articles and book chapters

Average arrival time is normally 3-5 days.

5. CLASS INSTRUCTION

Taylor Memorial Library's reference librarians teach students to become mindful consumers of information. Through foundational information literacy (IL) learning and personal attention throughout their academic career, students learn to seek quality answers to satisfy their intellectual curiosities. We offer library instruction and information literacy sessions through-out the semester. We hope to see you in class!

Learn more about our Instruction Program

6. CYCLONE SEARCH & DATABASES

The Cyclone Search is the single point of entry into all of our library’s collection. Performing this search retrieves results from all library resources. This includes books, print and digital media, and databases with access to full text electronic books, journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts.

View all 140+ Online Research Databases

Search 180,000+ eBook Collection

7. VIRTUAL CONNECTION

From our website, you can get in touch with us in so many ways! You can ask a question with our Chat with a Librarian feature or our Ask-a-Librarian form, drop us an email at library@centenaryuniversity.edu, or book an appointment to meet with one of us virtually. Don't forget to follow us on Instragram, Facebook, and YouTube too!
 
         

8. WORKSHOPS & EVENTS

Want to learn more about the databases? Have a question about citing a source in APA or MLA format? Interested in a book club? Looking for a free paint nights or fun activities? We have an event for that!

View the Events Calendar

9. SPACE

We have space for you, whether you need to study for an exam, find a place where you can sit for an online class, do some research, or just want to read and relax. We also provide a number of public access computers, a scanner, and printers for student use.

10. ARCHIVES

The library has a great collection of Centenary University history! We create displays and exhibits, offer lectures, encourage research questions, and digitize material for anyone interested in learning about the history of Centenary!

Search or Browse Digital Archives

  • Yearbooks (The Hack)
  • Student Newspapers (The Quill + previous iterations)
  • Alumni Publications
  • Course Catalogs
  • Photos, documents, artwork, and artifacts

STAY IN THE KNOW!

TML shares updates frequently throughout the semester. In addition to our social media accounts, we highlight service changes and special announcements in our Resource Memo every month!