LibGuides: Politics & Governmental Affairs: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Ebsco Ebooks: Politics & Government

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost Search across one or more of our EBSCO databases. Select by subject or view title list. Cross-search a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research across various disciplines and subject areas including: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Ebooks, Education Source, ERIC, GreenFile, Masterfile Elite, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, and SocIndex with Full Text.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s): formerly Legal Information Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Explora | Provided by the NJ State Library Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, this valuable resource contains hundreds of publications and thousands of multi-state forms to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Provided by the NJ State Library Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Military Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): Formerly called LexisNexis Academic Platform: Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The legal component also includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Company Profiles provide access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Points of View Reference Center Platform: EBSCO POVRS | Provided by the NJ State Library Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument), as well as a Guide to Critical Analysis.
Political Science Database (1985 - Current) This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

View full list of politics & government databases

Scholarly Journals

Browse Political Science journals by subject

Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Political Science]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand and view more subcategories. Click to choose a subject, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Periodicals

Library of Congress Classification

Political Science   Class J,
   Subclass JA
International Migration &
   Colonization   JV1-9480
Slavery & Emancipation
   (United States)   E441-453
International Relations   Subclass JZ
The Legislative Process   JF491-619
Economics   Subclass HB-HC
Socialism   HX1-970.7
Public Finance   HJ9-9940
International Economics
   HF1351-1359
Law   Subclass KZ
Public Administration
   (United States)   Subclass JF-JK

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

9 Historic Revolutions

The book, 9 HISTORIC REVOLUTIONS, is designed to be easy reading for any person who wants to learn about the many painful but glorious steps in human social evolution.

Democracy and Fake News

This book explores the challenges that disinformation, fake news, and post-truth politics pose to democracy from a multidisciplinary perspective.

Justice and Human Rights in the African Imagination

Justice and Human Rights in the African Imagination is an interdisciplinary reading of justice in literary texts and memoirs, films, and social anthropological texts in postcolonial Africa.

The Anthropology of Parliaments

The Anthropology of Parliaments offers a fresh, comparative approach to analysing parliaments and democratic politics, drawing together rare ethnographic work by anthropologists and politics scholars from around the world.

BOOKS IN PRINT

Arguing with Zombies

Building on and expanding Krugman's New York Times columns and other writings, it contains short, accessible chapters on topics including the fight for national health care in the United States, the housing bubble and financial meltdown of 2007- 2008, the European Union and Brexit, the attack on Social Security, and the fraudulent argument- the ultimate zombie- that tax cuts for the rich will benefit all.

The Firsts

A lively, behind-the-scenes look at the historic cohort of diverse, young, and groundbreaking women newly elected to the House of Representatives in 2018 as they arrive in Washington, DC, and start working for change, written by a news reporter with sharp insight and deep knowledge of the Hill.

Fault Lines

If you were asked when America became polarized, your answer would likely depend on your age: you might say during Barack Obama's presidency, or with the post- 9/11 war on terror, or the culture wars of the 1980s and 1990s, or the 'Reagan Revolution' and the rise of the New Right. For leading historians Kevin M. Kruse and Julian E. Zelizer, it all starts in 1974.

Dress Codes

A law professor and cultural critic offers an eye-opening exploration of the laws of fashion throughout history, from the middle ages to the present day, examining the canons, mores and customs of clothing rules that we often take for granted.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item