LibGuides: OER's for Medical Lab Science: Home

Image by Belova59 from Pixabay

Library Resources as Affordable Option

Library resources might be one way to design a course that is affordable for students - these resources are not free, but the cost is already incorporated into student tuition. There are no extra out-of-pocket costs.

EBSCO Ebooks Search - Medical Lab Science

EBSCO Ebooks are not restricted by number of users - there is no limit, which makes them a viable textbook or supplemental reading choice. Some titles available include:

Free to Access: Vendors Offering Free Access during COVID-19 Crisis
(Includes Annual Reviews, JoVE Science Education, JSTOR full access, Project Muse, Films on Demand, and the National Emergency Library.)
ProQuest Central
(ProQuest Central includes thousands of journals for science and medicine.)
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
(Academic Search Complete includes nearly 4,000 active, full text journals that are indexed in one or both of the major scientific citation databases, Web of Science and Scopus.)
JSTOR Science Journals Collection
(Browse for journals available by subject, or simply search by topic)
Consider putting a copy of your textbook(s) On Reserve at the Library.
(Provides students with free access to the required course materials, without any cost to them)

OER Searching: Best Bets for Medical Lab Science

Please note that there will be overlap amongst these OER repositories.

Mason OER Metafinder Search: Laboratory Medicine
Mason OER Metafinder Search: Hematology
Mason OER Metafinder Search: Clinical Chemistry
InTechOpen: Hematology | Immunology & Microbiology
OER Commons: Laboratory Medicine | Immunology
LibreTexts: Biology | Chemistry | Medicine
Open Textbook Library: Biology | Chemistry | Medicine
MERLOT: Laboratory Medicine
Directory of Open Access Books

More Lab Resources

Online Resources for Science Laboratories (Remote Teaching)
Moving Science Labs Online
MERLOT Virtual Labs | Teaching ePortfolios
Virtual and Remote Lab Resources (UCF)
OER Simulations & Virtual Labs Resources (Compiled by Colorado School of Mines)
NANSLO: North American Network of Science Labs Online
Resources for Teaching Biology Laboratories Online
The Open Science Laboratory
eScience Labs

Some open textbooks include instructor materials like Powerpoint slides, lab manuals, assignments, simulations, etc, while in some cases, those who adopt an OER will create (and license as Open Access) ancillary materials to be used with the original text.

The list below includes online instructional videos that are FREE, though not necessarily open.

Hematologic Cells and their Functions: Blood Cell Identification (Wisc-Online)
Immunology Podcast Series (University of Oxford)
iBiology Research Talks: Immunology
iBiology Research Talks: Microbiology
TEDMED Talks
CSMLS Safety Central
Center for Phlebotomy Education
Advanced Hematologic System Physiology (Khan Academy)
OASIS Search for Videos

Open Textbooks for Medical Lab Science

Explore open textbooks! The options below might be a good fit for some medical lab science courses.

MLS 3200 / MLS 4200

Hematology I & II

A Laboratory Guide to Clinical Hematology

From Open Textbook Library and the University of Alberta, A Laboratory Guide to Clinical Hematology may be a useful supplemental resource.
See reviews in Open Textbook Library.

Go to A Laboratory Guide to
Clinical Hematology

Alternatives:

Blood Cell: An Overview of Studies in Hematology
Hematology: Latest Research & Clinical Advances

Hematology: Science and Practice

From InTech Open, Hematology: Science and Practice offers a selection of essays which aim to inform both specialist and non-specialist readers about some of the latest advances in hematology, in both laboratory and clinic.

Go to Hematology: Science
and Practice

MLS 3300 / MLS4300

Clinical Chemistry I & II

Clinical Chemistry - Theory, Analysis, Correlation

From LibreTexts and Lawrence Kaplan and Amadeo Pesce, Clinical Chemistry - Theory, Analysis, Correlation (Kaplan and Pesce) is a workbook and companion manual to the 4th edition of Kaplan and Pesce's text of the same name. Includes questions, lab exercises and case histories.

Go to Clinical Chemistry

Introduction to Clinical Biochemistry

From Bookboon, Introduction to Clinical Biochemistry: Interpreting Blood Results is a concise introduction to the common blood tests and concepts used in pathology. Bookboon titles are free, though not open for remixing, and students must create a free account to access.

Go to Intro to Clinical Biochemistry