Skip to main content

Free to Access: Research Databases

Free Vendor Resources for Combating Structural Racism

Many information vendors have opened up access - temporarily or indefinitely - to articles that may be helpful for discussing and recognizing and confronting the structural racism that underlies our societal institutions.

  • Annual Reviews Article Collection: Racial Justice, Policing, and Protest
    Annual Reviews Journals offers a curated collection of articles that focus on understanding discrimination and its impact, and what must be done to end it. These articles are freely available to download.

  • Duke University Press: Syllabi
    Includes syllabi for police violence, and racial justice, among other topics, with links to temporarily free to access books and articles. Free through September 30, 2020.

  • JSTOR Daily: Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus
    The following articles, published over the course of JSTOR Daily’s five years try to provide context of a broader pattern of institutionalized racism. As always, the underlying scholarship is free for all readers.

  • MUSE in Focus: Confronting Structural Racism
    Temporary free access to scholarly books and journal articles from Project MUSE publishers on the history of structural racism in the United States and how the country can realize anti-racist reform.

  • SAGE Publishing: Structural Racism and Police Violence
    This collection offers a range of resources based on social and behavioral science. Includes free peer-reviewed journal articles, instructor resources, plus podcasts, and archived webinars.

  • Social Science Space: Structural Racism & Inequality (SAGE)
    From SAGE Publishing's social science community site, this compilation of resources includes articles, videos, and materials to help educators.

  • Springer/Nature: Black Lives Matter
    Springer/Nature offers a selection of books, articles and audio recordings to share research insights, not least in the history and social science of racism and police violence, and to amplify Black researchers' voices within our collection by sharing their research, personal stories and journey. Centered on the following themes: Social Inequality & Systemic Racism, Policing Race & Civil Unrest, Gender, Racism & Oppression, Health Disparities, and Stories from Black women in research.

  • University of Minnesota Press: Reading for Racial Justice
    The University of Minnesota Press is making this collection of antiracist books available to all to read online for free through August 31, 2020.

Free Resources for Virtual Instruction

With colleges and universities moving to virtual instruction, many publishers and information vendors have stepped up in support of students and faculty, temporarily providing free access to textbooks, scholarly article databases, ebooks, and streaming video. For many of the resources listed below, there is an end date and others are designated free for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis.

Free Public Access


Open Educational Resources logo

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Free online textbooks, many with supplemental materials like lesson plans, lab manuals, simulations, lecture slides, test banks, etc. All licensed for re-use, some licensed for adaptation.






Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's attempt to index the scholarly literature that can be found on the free web. It links to freely available articles on publisher websites, author websites, institutional repositories, and pre-print servers, as well as reports, online books, and other scholarly material online.
Google Scholar can also link you to full text provided by Taylor Memorial Library. To activate this, go to the Library Links page, and search for Centenary University. Check the box and click Save.



Additional, Subject-Specific Article Databases (free public access)


Access to Free/Open Dissertations & Theses

Libraries & Archives

  • Internet Archive

    A non-profit digital library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
  • Your Public Library

    Many public libraries provide their own digital subscriptions to content like ebooks, audiobooks, digital magazines, music, and online training courses - and since many have closed their doors indefinitely, virtual programs like storytimes, book clubs, crafts, and concerts, live streamed via Facebook or other platforms.
  • Jersey Clicks

    If you live in NJ and have a Library Card from your town's public library, plus an access pin for digital content, you can access several Ebsco databases via the statewide Jersey Clicks service.

More Free Resources

  • From the Creative Community
    Great compilation from the Copyright Alliance, with free resources for education, work, fitness, entertainment, and help being offered by individual creators.
  • Kids Educational Resources
    Great list of resources pulled together by Open Culture.

COVID-19 Research

  • CDC: Cases in U.S.
  • Global Cases Tracking
    (Johns Hopkins)
  • COVID-19 News Tracker
    Global media tracker from Lexis Nexis. Charts show media coverage and financial markets, effects on daily life, what people are talking about, and locations. Links to top stories.
  • Ebsco Covid-19 Information
    Portal from Ebsco. Includes news from a variety of sources, journal articles, coverage of trending topics, links to data trackers and to maps and visualizations.
  • LitCovid
    A curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the virus, providing access to 1826 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed.
  • Dimensions Search: COVID-19
    Nearly 4800 articles, all full text. Filter by those that include data sets or clinical trials.
  • Novel Coronavirus Information Center
    This portal site from Elsevier makes a fantastic starting point for healthcare providers and researchers.
  • Wellcome Trust Pledge
    Many scholarly publishers have signed on to the Wellcome Trust pledge to provide free access to published research on COVID-19.