LibGuides: Fashion: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Alternate Link: Business Source Elite (EBSCO Classic Interface Platform:EBSCOhost | Provided by the NJ State Library This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost Search across one or more of our EBSCO databases. Select by subject or view title list. Cross-search a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research across various disciplines and subject areas including: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Ebooks, Education Source, ERIC, GreenFile, Masterfile Elite, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, and SocIndex with Full Text.

Ebsco Ebooks: Fashion

Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s): formerly Legal Information Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Explora | Provided by the NJ State Library Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, this valuable resource contains hundreds of publications and thousands of multi-state forms to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Small Business Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Small Business Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Explora | Provided by the NJ State Library This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.

Women's Wear Daily Current 2003 - Present Covers business issues, fashion trends, retailing developments, international ready-to-wear, couture presentations & market overviews. For retailers & manufacturers of women's apparel, accessories, fibers & textiles.

View full list of fashion databases

Digital Magazine Access

TML has 2 fashion magazines on Flipster

Periodicals

Fashion Trendsetter
This popular website includes information for this season and one season ahead.
Harper's Bazaar
Retail Merchandiser
Textile World
Threads
Visual Merchandising & Store Design
Vogue

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Fashion topics

Library of Congress Classifications

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Clothing Manufacturing   TT490-695
Color   TT507
Costuming   GT500-2370
Fashion Advertising   HF6161
Fashion Designers   TT505-506
Merchandising   HD9940
Photography   TR679
Retail   (see Fashion Merchandising)
Sewing   TT700-715
Textiles   N8800-8899.5

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

Crossing Gender Boundaries

This volume presents a collection of the most recent knowledge on the relationship between gender and fashion in historical and contemporary contexts.

Fashion and Family History

In this skillfully illustrated, accessible and authoritative book, Jayne Shrimpton demonstrates how fashion and clothes represent the everyday experiences of earlier generations, illuminating the world in which they lived.

Dress As Social Relations

To dress is a uniquely human experience, but practices and meanings of dress vary greatly among people.

Clothing Poverty

Following a pair of jeans, Clothing Poverty takes the reader on a vivid around-the-world tour to reveal how clothes are manufactured and retailed, bringing to light how fast fashion and recycling are interconnected.

BOOKS IN PRINT

Dressed in Dreams

In this highly engaging book, fashionista and pop culture expert Tanisha C. Ford investigates Afros and dashikis, go-go boots and hotpants of the sixties, hip hop's baggy jeans and bamboo earrings, and the #BlackLivesMatter-inspired hoodies of today.

Our Shoes, Our Selves

In Our Shoes, Our Selves: 40 Women, 40 Stories, 40 Pairs of Shoes, actress Bridget Moynahan and journalist Amanda Benchley ask 40 accomplished women to recount the memories behind their most meaningful pair of shoes.

Dress Codes

A law professor and cultural critic offers an eye-opening exploration of the laws of fashion throughout history, from the middle ages to the present day, examining the canons, mores and customs of clothing rules that we often take for granted.

Fashion Climbing

The iconic "New York Times" photographer presents a sophisticated, visual account of his early education in New York City's high-fashion circles.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item