LibGuides: Education: Web Resources

General Web Resources

ADHD Overview for Educators
Building Blocks for a Healthy Future
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
Common Core State Standards
This site is the official home of the Common Core State Standards. It is hosted and maintained by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) and the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center). It provides parents, educators, policymakers, journalists, and others easy access to the actual standards, as well as supporting information and resources.
Digital Media for Classroom and Professional Development
Registering with Teachers' Domain is free and allows users to view resources; save, sort, and share resources using My Folders and My Groups; download resources to the desktop; and see standards correlations for a particular state.
EPA Resources on Environmental Issues for Teachers
Our mission is to protect human health and the environment.
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence Archive
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE) offered a way to find digital teaching and learning resources created and maintained by the federal government and public and private organizations. The website is retired now, however, this link has helpful resources from the project.
FEMA Resources for Teachers
Embedded with real-world connections, these multidisciplinary lessons teach what to do before, during, and after an emergency while fostering critical 21st-century skills such as problem solving, teamwork, creativity, leadership, and communication.
Library of Congress -- Teachers
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
National Geographic Resources for Teachers
The National Geographic Society is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to exploring our planet, protecting wildlife and habitats, and helping assure that students in K-12 are geographically literate.
New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards
In 1996, the New Jersey State Board of Education adopted the state's first set of academic standards called the Core Curriculum Content Standards. The standards described what students should know and be able to do upon completion of a thirteen-year public school education.
Smithsonian Education (Art & Design, Science & Technology, History & Culture, Language Arts)
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access (SCLDA) uses all the Smithsonian offers to empower learners to explore their own interests and collaborate with others to bring ideas to life.
Stop Bullying.gov
Provides info from government agencies, defining risks and appropriate responses.
Thinkfinity/Verizon Foundation
Rutgers Biomedical & Health Sciences: Center for Teaching Excellence
UNICEF Resources for Teachers
UNICEF is a leading humanitarian and development agency working globally for the rights of every child. Child rights begin with safe shelter, nutrition, protection from disaster and conflict and traverse the life cycle: pre-natal care for healthy births, clean water and sanitation, health care and education.

Applied Learning

The following pages provide information about vocational and technical education:

National Research Center for Career and Technical Education
National Service Learning Clearinghouse
The Generator School Network is an online community of more than 5,000 youth and adult members who have discovered how they can change the world through service-learning.
Office of Vocational and Adult Education
Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE) administers, coordinates programs that are related to adult education and literacy, career and technical education, and community colleges.
Society for Applied Learning Technology (SALT)
This society educates its members in distance learning, interactive multimedia in education and training, development of interactive instruction materials, performance support systems applications in education and training, interactive instruction delivery, and information literacy through its conferences and online journal articles.

Assessment Testing, Rubrics & Measurements

Education Testing Service
At nonprofit ETS, we are passionate about our mission to advance quality and equity in education for all people worldwide because we believe in the power of learning.
ETS TestLink
Search the Test Collection at the Educational Testing Service.
Online Evaluation Resource Library
This library was developed for professionals seeking to design, conduct, document, or review project evaluations.
RAND Education Assessment Finder
Provides information about assessments of K-12 students’ interpersonal, intrapersonal, and higher-order cognitive competencies. Practitioners, researchers, and policymakers can use it to explore what assessments are available, what they are designed to measure, how they are administered, what demands they place on students and teachers, and what kinds of uses their scores support.
Social and Emotional Learning Assessment Guidebook
a user-friendly technical guidebook for educators involved in selecting and overseeing the use of SEL assessments with students in PreK through Grade 12. The result are three guides that provide steps and resources for identifying an SEL assessment, questions to ask when evaluating the measurement quality of an SEL assessment, and recommendations for appropriately using an SEL assessment once a high quality measure has been identified.

Associations

Information provided by associations needs to be used with care. The primary role of most associations is to lobby for favorable legislation. Associations provide news, often set standards and provide certification for professionals.

American Association for School Administrators
The website contains sections on issues and insights.
American Education Research Association
The association supports and disseminates scholarly research.
American Federation of Teachers
The American Federation of Teachers is associated with the AFL-CIO. The union represents 850,000 teachers.
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
This association is an organization that provides professional development in curriculum and supervision, initiates and supports activities to provide educational equity for all students and serves as a leader in education information services.
National Association of Elementary School Principals
Discusses issues related to the administration of elementary schools.
National Association of Secondary School Principals
The site focuses on current events, advocacy and issues.
National Education Association -- Reference Center
Provides educational statistics about teachers compensation and other issues related to teachers.
New Jersey Education Association
NJEA represents most teachers in New Jersey, and its primary role is lobbying.

Bullying

Fairfax County VA Bullying Prevention and Intervention
Middle School Bullying
The University of Virginia has developed a number of programs and resources dealing with bullying.
Stop Bullying.gov
Provides info from government agencies, defining risks and appropriate responses.

Certification

50 States' Certification Requirements
Links to licensing requirements in every state.
Teacher Licensing and Certification Requirement
The page details the various routes to teacher certification in New Jersey.

Children's Literature

Teachers inspire children to read. The following websites help teachers identify reading resources:

Caldecott Medal Home Page
Information on current and past winners of the Caldecott Medal and honor books. While visiting this site, review additional websites available throughout the American Library Association.
Newbery Awards
The award was named after a British bookseller, John Newbery. The award recognizes excellence in American children’s literature.
University of South Carolina -- 19th Century Children’s Literature
The Historical Children's Literature Collection at Thomas Cooper Library is primarily a teaching collection. Much more than most collections in the Department of Rare Books, the Children's Literature Collection supports classroom teaching, giving both undergraduates and graduate students the opportunity for hands-on experience of primary source materials. The collection covers children's literature up through about World War I, charting the growth and transformation of books for children during the golden age of the genre in the nineteenth century.
YALSA Book Awards and Booklists
Looking for great teen books? Look no further than YALSA's Book Awards and Selected Booklists. While these books have been selected for teens from 12 to 18 years of age, the award-winning titles and the titles on YALSA's selected lists span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.

Core Curriculum

Common Core State Standards Initiative
This site is the official home of the Common Core State Standards. It is hosted and maintained by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) and the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center). It provides parents, educators, policymakers, journalists, and others easy access to the actual standards, as well as supporting information and resources.
New Jersey Core Curriculum Standards
Standard that defines what is taught in New Jersey.

Distance Education & Blended Learning

INACOL (International Association for K-12 Online Learning)
The International Association for K-12 Online Learning (iNACOL) is to catalyze the transformation of K-12 education policy and practice to advance powerful, personalized, learner-centered experiences through competency-based, blended and online learning.

Funding Organizations

The following organizations provide grants and funding for educational organizations:

Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
The Education Trust is a national non-profit advocacy organization that promotes high academic achievement for all students at all levels, particularly for students of color and low-income students.
Ford Foundation
Our mission has sought to reduce poverty and injustice, strengthen democratic values, promote international cooperation, and advance human achievement.
Foundation Center
We’re an innovative nonprofit that gathers and analyzes data, shares it worldwide, and empowers people like you to understand and increase philanthropy’s ability to improve the world.
James Irvine Foundation
Since 1937, The James Irvine Foundation has provided more than $1.5 billion in grants to over 3,600 nonprofit organizations across the state. The guiding principle in all our grant making is to expand opportunity.
Lumina Foundation
Lumina Foundation is an independent, private foundation committed to increasing the proportion of Americans with degrees, certificates and other high-quality credentials to 60 percent by 2025.
Sloan Foundation
The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a philanthropic, not-for-profit grantmaking institution based in New York City. The Foundation makes grants in support of original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and economic performance.

Higher Education

Educause
Promotes technology as an educational tool.
FinAid, Financial Aid Information Page
A comprehensive source of student financial aid information, advice and tools
National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
The National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) serves as the unified national voice of private nonprofit higher education.
Student Aid on the Web
Federal Student Aid, a part of the U.S. Department of Education, is the largest provider of student financial aid in the nation.

Information Literacy

Big Six (Mike Eisenberg) Information Technology & Skills for Student Achievement
Using the Big6 information literacy process, you will identify information research goals, seek, use, and assemble relevant, credible information, then to reflect— is the final product effective and was my process efficient.

Research

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching is committed to developing networks of ideas, individuals, and institutions to advance teaching and learning.
Colorado State University Introduction to Survey Research
The website focuses on survey research and was designed by the writing center.
ERIC
A useful directory that compiles ERIC-related information, including links to ERIC Digest, ERIC Clearinghouse, Adjunct ERIC Clearinghouse, publishers of ERIC material and ERIC support component.
Technology Studies in Education, University of Illinois
The content was placed under the auspice of the department and are maintained by the department.
The Educator's Reference Desk
This site contains more than 2,000 lesson plans, more than 3,000 links to online education information and more than 200 question archive responses.
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) Education Research Reports
The U.S. GAO is a government agency that provides objective, non-partisan analysis of U.S. government operations. See reports on education.
Tools for Preparing Literature Reviews
The site was prepared by professors at George Washington University.

Special Education

Autism Society
The Autism Society is the nation's leading grassroots autism organization. We work to increase public awareness about the day-to-day issues about people across the spectrum, advocate for appropriate services for individuals of every age, and provide the latest information regarding treatment, education, research, and advocacy.
LD Online: Teacher’s Home Page
LD OnLine seeks to help children and adults reach their full potential by providing accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD.
National Down Syndrome Society
The National Down Syndrome Society is the leading human rights organization for all people with Down syndrome.
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitation Services
ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Waisman Center
The center provides research, training, outreach and a broad range of service for the developmentally disabled. The Waisman Center also provides links to special education resources under the Family Village heading.

Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Search the database using the term "education statistics".
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
NCES Fast Facts
National Center For Education Statistics Fast Facts
NCES Annual Report
National Center For Education Statistics Annual Report
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
Provides the Nation’s Report Card.
Nation's Report Card
This website reports the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress and includes state profiles and state comparisons.
National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing (CRESST)
A government-funded center that deals with assessment and standards issues.
New Jersey Department of Education
Provide leadership to achieve excellence in New Jersey public education. Engage legislators, school administrators, teachers, students, parents, and other stakeholders in formulating policies that enhance education, empower families, and broaden opportunities for students.
No Child Left Behind
Information on No Child Left Behind, including the Act and policy, and the Obama Administration's blueprint for reauthorizing the Elementary and Secondary Education Act.
US Department of Education
ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

Teaching Resources

ADHD Resources for Teachers
Building Blocks for a Healthy Future
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
Digital Media for Classroom and Professional Development
Registering with Teachers' Domain is free and allows users to view resources; save, sort, and share resources using My Folders and My Groups; download resources to the desktop; and see standards correlations for a particular state.
EPA Resources on Environmental Issues for Teachers
Our mission is to protect human health and the environment.
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence Archive
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE) offered a way to find digital teaching and learning resources created and maintained by the federal government and public and private organizations. The website is retired now, however, this link has helpful resources from the project.
FEMA Resources for Teachers
Girlshealth.gov
Library of Congress -- Teachers
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
National Geographic Resources for Teachers
The National Geographic Society is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to exploring our planet, protecting wildlife and habitats, and helping assure that students in K-12 are geographically literate.
Smithsonian Education (Art & Design, Science & Technology, History & Culture, Language Arts)
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access (SCLDA) uses all the Smithsonian offers to empower learners to explore their own interests and collaborate with others to bring ideas to life.
UNICEF Resources for Teachers
UNICEF is a leading humanitarian and development agency working globally for the rights of every child. Child rights begin with safe shelter, nutrition, protection from disaster and conflict and traverse the life cycle: pre-natal care for healthy births, clean water and sanitation, health care and education.

Think Tanks / Policy Organizations

Think tanks and policy organization analyze educational systems and make recommendations to change or improve them.

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
The foundation is a policy and research center.
Education Commission of the States
The primary role of the organization is to develop policy, provide data, identify best practices and provide a venue for communication and collaboration.
Education Trust
The Education Trust's mission is to promote educational achievement. They are a policy and lobbying organization.

Using SPSS

UCLA Resources for SPSS
The IDRE mission is to support, advance and guide a campus-wide program to position UCLA as a world leader in research and education in computational thinking, using high performance computation, data visualization and data analysis of large data sets and databases.