Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Education

Scholarly Journals

Browse education journals by subject
Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Education]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand and view more subcategories. Click to choose a subject, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Library of Congress Classification

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Adult Education   LC5201-6660.4
Curricula   LB2361-2365
Education   LB5-45
Education of Women   LC1401-2572
Elementary Education   LB1555-1602
Higher Education   LB2300-2430
Secondary Education LB1603-1696.6
Special Education   LC3950-4806.5
Teaching/Teachers   LB1705-2286,
   LB1025-1050.75

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and many of our databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts.

Limit Your Results
 

This box searches across Ebsco's article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, Education Source, PsycARTICLES and Sociology Index with Full Text.
Note - these databases are also searchable via Cyclone Search.

Limit Your Results
Access & Troubleshooting

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. Content includes articles that are peer-reviewed as well as newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, company profiles, industry reports, etc.  Note - these databases are not included in Cyclone Search.

Includes Dissertations & Theses at Centenary University, ProQuest Central article collections for all subjects, current newspapers as well as historical newspapers (with New York Times and Wall Street Journal among many others).

Access & Troubleshooting

Journal Title Search will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through Taylor Memorial Library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles.

Enter title (e.g. journal of cell biology) or keyword (e.g. business) or ISSN (e.g. 0425-1644)
Limit Your Results

Periodicals in Print    Look Up a DOI    Access & Troubleshooting

Search the library catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.


New Books & DVDs    More Search Options    Course Reserves List    Renew Items

Ebsco Ebook Collection provides access to over 180,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects and includes powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information you find.

Check the table of contents to determine which chapters are most relevant. Read them online, or sign up for a MyEbscohost Account to download a temporary ePub or PDF version to read offline.


Access & Troubleshooting

Centenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.


Book Cover image

The Aspiring Principal: 50 Critical Questions for New and Future School Leaders

"School leadership expert Baruti Kafele presents reflective questions aimed at assisting both new and aspiring school leaders as they work to become effective school leaders and consider making a leap to a leadership position."

Book Cover image

Leadership for School Improvement

"This book is rich in research and literature about school improvement, school effectiveness, and school reform policy and implementation and thus holds significance for educational practitioners, scholars, and policy makers at all levels."

Book Cover image

All Learning Is Social and Emotional

"If you teach kids rather than standards, and if you want all kids to get what they need to thrive, Nancy Frey, Douglas Fisher, and Dominique Smith offer a solution: a comprehensive, five-part model of SEL that's easy to integrate into everyday content instruction, no matter what subject or grade level you teach."

Book Cover image

Is My School a Better School Because I Lead It?

" In this book, Kafele offers those seeking to improve the quality of instruction in their institutions hard-won wisdom on such critical issues as ensuring an optimal culture and climate, engaging in parent and community outreach, confirming emergency preparedness, rallying staff, and much more."

Book Cover image

Action Learning and Action Research

"This book, written by internationally renowned experts, is the first to provide a comprehensive overview of the main genres and approaches of AL/AR."

Book Cover image

Broadening Participation in STEM: Effective Methods, Practices, and Programs

"U.S. students exit undergraduate science, technology, engineering, and mathematics programs at alarming rates - this is especially true for minorities. This book provides faculty, administrators, and diversity professionals with a guide that can be used to develop programs designed to address specific student success and inclusion goals in STEM programs."

Book Cover image

Teaching Outside the Box: Beyond the Deficit Driven School Reforms

"The book carefully analyzes the organic evolution of educators' social constructs that regenerated inequities to reveal the road map for rebuilding genuinely inclusive and equitable public school systems that serve the interests of students and society."

Book Cover image

Committing to the Culture: How Leaders can create and sustain positive schools

"Leaders will gain profound insight into how to create meaningful change, with the goal not just to'transform'their school but also to get all members of the school community to commit to culture change—and make sure that change sticks."

Book Cover image

Building Trauma-sensitive Schools: Your Guide to Creating Safe, Supportive Learning Environments for All Students

"In the United States, at least one in four youth experiences trauma severe enough to negatively affect their school success.• Give hope and help to these students with this reader-friendly how-to guide, your springboard for building responsive, trauma-sensitive preK–12 schools."

Book Cover image

What Makes a Star Teacher: 7 Dispositions That Support Student Learning

"The book is grounded in studies conducted and ideas developed over a half-century by educational theorist Martin Haberman, whose models are used in hundreds of school districts across the United States. Full of insightful authentic examples, practical and ready-to-use strategies, and numerous suggested resources."

Book Cover image

Leading High-Performance School Systems: Lessons from the World's Best

In this book, "Marc Tucker, a leading expert on top-performing school systems with more than 30 years of experience studying the global economy and education systems worldwide, details how top-performing school systems have met head-on the challenges facing school leaders today."

Book Cover image

Theory and Method in Higher Education Research

This volume of Theory and Method in Higher Education Research contains analyses and discussions of, amongst others, topic modelling, geometric data analysis, creativity and playfulness, longitudinal network analysis, grounded theory methods and autonetnography.

Book Cover image

Argumentation Strategies in the Classroom

Based on first-hand experience and extensive research, this volume guides the reader through argumentation with the focus placed on the relationship between this teaching method and effective learning and the need to investigate the role of teachers in encouraging argumentation in the classroom.

Book Cover image

Hacking Education in a Digital Age

Those who seek to question the nature of teaching and learning and who seek to develop a richer theoretical vocabulary will benefit from the insightful and rich collection of essays presented in this collection. In this regard, the collection offers something for all who might wish to rethink the fundamental dynamics of education or, as Morpheus asks of Neo in The Matrix, bend the rules of conventional ways of knowing and being.

Book Cover image

Doing Poorly on Purpose

There is no such thing as a “classic underachiever.” Students (and their reasons for underachieving) are influenced by a wide range of factors, including self-image, self-concept, social-emotional relationships, and the amount of dignity teachers afford their students. Helping “smart” students achieve when they don't want to is not an easy task, but you can reengage and inspire students using Delisle's insights and practical advice on these topics...

Book Cover image

What We Know about Grading: What Works, What Doesn't, and What's Next

"A review of 100-plus years of grading research, each chapter addresses a different area of grading research and describes how the major findings in that area might be leveraged to improve grading policy and practice."

TEACHING RESOURCES
BOOKS IN PRINT
Book Cover image

How the Other Half Learns: equality, excellence, and the battle over school choice

"An inside look at America's most controversial charter schools, and the moral and political questions around public education and school choice"

Book Cover image

These 6 Things: How to focus your teaching on what matters most

These 6 Things is all about streamlining your practice so that you're teaching smarter, not harder, and kids are learning, doing, and flourishing in ELA and content-area classrooms

Book Cover image

You Can't Fire the Bad Ones!: and 18 other myths about teachers, teachers' unions, and public education

"This book flips the script on enduring and popular myths about teachers, teachers unions, and education that inform policy discussions and choices."

Book Cover image

How Schools Work: an inside account of failure and success from one of the nation's longest-serving secretaries of education

Examines some of the problems that plague the American public school system, identifies solutions that have worked in the past, and celebrates the hero teachers, staffers, and adminstrators the author met as the Obama Secretary of Education.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.


Request Item