Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science: Biology/Chemistry

Scholarly Journals

Browse science journals by subject

Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Agriculture], [Geography. Anthropology. Recreation] or [Science]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand and view more subcategories. Click to choose a subject, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Periodicals

Library of Congress Classification

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Astronomy   QB1-991
Physics   QC1-999
Chemistry   QD1-999
Inorganic Chemistry   QD146-197
Organic Chemistry   QD241-441
Natural History   QH1-278.5
Biology   QH301-705.5
Evolution   QH359-425
Genetics   QH426-470
Ecology   QH540-549.5
Botany   Subclass QK
Zoology   Subclass QL
Physiology   Subclass QP

Digital Magazine Access

TML now has 1 science magazine on Flipster:
  • Discover

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and many of our databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts.

Limit Your Results
 

This box searches across Ebsco's article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, Education Source, PsycARTICLES and Sociology Index with Full Text.
Note - these databases are also searchable via Cyclone Search.

Limit Your Results
Access & Troubleshooting

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. Content includes articles that are peer-reviewed as well as newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, company profiles, industry reports, etc.  Note - these databases are not included in Cyclone Search.

Includes Dissertations & Theses at Centenary University, ProQuest Central article collections for all subjects, current newspapers as well as historical newspapers (with New York Times and Wall Street Journal among many others).

Access & Troubleshooting

Journal Title Search will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through Taylor Memorial Library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles.

Enter title (e.g. journal of cell biology) or keyword (e.g. business) or ISSN (e.g. 0425-1644)
Limit Your Results

Periodicals in Print    Look Up a DOI    Access & Troubleshooting

Search the library catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.


New Books & DVDs    More Search Options    Course Reserves List    Renew Items

Ebsco Ebook Collection provides access to over 180,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects and includes powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information you find.

Check the table of contents to determine which chapters are most relevant. Read them online, or sign up for a MyEbscohost Account to download a temporary ePub or PDF version to read offline.


Access & Troubleshooting

Centenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.


Age

Thanks to evolution, we can't imagine ourselves any older than 45. Biologically, we should just give up the ghost once we've raised a few carbon copies of ourselves. But for those of us who want to stick around a little longer, Suresh has devised a formula for eternal life. Let's hope it works.

The Alchemy of Disease

Since the dawn of the industrial age, we have unleashed a bewildering number of potentially harmful chemicals. But out of this vast array, how do we identify the actual threats? What does it take to prove that a certain chemical causes cancer? How do we translate academic knowledge of the toxic effects of particular substances into understanding real-world health consequences? The science that answers these questions is toxicology.

A Closer Look at Marine Debris

Marine debris is a persistent problem in many coastal areas of the United States. There are a variety of potential economic losses associated with marine debris, including effects on commercial fisheries, effects on waterfront property values, costs incurred by local governments and volunteer organizations to remove and dispose of marine debris, and more general “existence” values reflecting the public's preference for a clean environment.

Cook, Taste, Learn

Cooking food is one of the activities that makes humanity unique. It's not just about what tastes good: advances in cooking technology have been a constant part of our progress, from the ability to control fire to the emergence of agriculture to modern science's understanding of what happens at a molecular level when we apply heat to food.

Luminous Creatures

Luminous Creatures tracks these historical events and illuminates the lives and the trail-blazing accomplishments of the scientists involved. It offers a unique window into the awe-inspiring, phantasmagorical world of light-producing organisms, viewed from the perspectives of casual observers and scientists alike.

Walker's Mammals of the World

Uniquely comprehensive in inimitable Walker's style, it incorporates a full account of every genus that has lived in the past 5,000 years. Every named species of each genus is listed in systematic order and accompanied by detailed descriptions of past and present range.

Children and Childhood in Bioarchaeology

Emphasizing a life course approach and developmental perspective, this volume's interdisciplinary nature marks a paradigm shift in the way children of the past are studied. It points the way forward to a better understanding of childhood as a dynamic lived experience both physically and socially.

Molecular Feminisms

By practicing science as feminism at the lab bench, Roy creates an interdisciplinary conversation between molecular biology, Deleuzian philosophies, science and technology studies, feminist theory, posthumanism, and postcolonial and decolonial studies.

Animal, Vegetable, Junk

How humankind first hunted and gathered explains our emergence as a new species and our earliest technology. Our first food systems, from fire to agriculture, tell where we settled and how civilizations expanded. The quest for food for growing populations drove exploration, colonialism, slavery, even capitalism. A century ago, food was industrialized. Since then, new styles of agriculture and food production have written a new chapter of human history, one that is driving both climate change and global health crises.

The Code Breaker

Driven by a passion to understand how nature works and to turn discoveries into inventions, Doudna and her collaborators turned a curiosity of nature into an invention that will transform the human race: an easy-to-use tool that can edit DNA. Known as CRISPR, it opened a brave new world of medical miracles and moral questions. Isaacson explores the development of CRISPR and the race to create vaccines for coronavirus will hasten our transition to the next great innovation revolution.

Grinnell

George Bird Grinnell, the son of a New York merchant, saw a different future for a nation in the thrall of the Industrial Age. With railroads scarring virgin lands and the formerly vast buffalo herds decimated, the country faced a crossroads: Could it pursue Manifest Destiny without destroying its natural bounty and beauty? The alarm that Grinnell sounded would spark America's conservation movement. Yet today his name has been forgotten -- an omission that John Taliaferro's commanding biography sets right with narrative flair.

An Elegant Defense

A groundbreaking narrative exploration of the human immune system--the key to human health and longevity--from the Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist and acclaimed author of A Deadly Wandering

The Tangled Tree

The Tangled Tree is a brilliant guide to our transformed understanding of evolution, of life's history, and of our own human nature.

Gene Machine

Ultimately, Gene Machine shows not just what it takes to win a Nobel Prize, but also reveals that who you know and how you handle them are just as important to scientific success as are brains, luck, and hard work.

Sleepyhead

We learn the underlying difference between morning larks and night owls; why our sleeping habits shift as we grow older; and the evolutionary significance of REM sleep and dreaming. Charming, eye-opening, and deeply humanizing, Sleepyhead will help us all uncover the secrets of a good night's sleep.

Superhuman

In Superhuman he takes us on a breathtaking tour of the peaks of human achievement that shows us what it feels like to be extraordinary--and what it takes to get there.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.


Request Item