Military & Veterans Resources Guide: Home

Library Resources on Military Studies:

Ebsco Ebooks Collection: Military and Veterans

Offers over 12,000 ebook titles covering veterans issues, transitioning to civilian life, experiences of war, health care and mental health, wars and conflict studies, military history, and biographies.
Click on the table of contents and view, print, or download individual chapters. Create a My EBSCO account to download the full ebook.

Military Database (ProQuest)

Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. Includes scholarly journals, industry journals, magazines, technical reports, government publications, and more.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content. With over 275 full text journals and periodicals.

HeinOnline: Military and Government

Content focuses on the function of the federal government in administrating the armed forces, the armed forces' structural changes over time, and the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield. Coverage is from the American Revolution on up to the present War on Terror. HeinOnline also provides Military Legal Resources from the U.S. Army JAG School on military justice, war crimes, and international law.

JSTOR: Military Studies Journals

Includes 30 journals with over a century of coverage of military issues, dates from 1909-2023. Key titles: Armed Forces & Society, Army History, Medieval Warfare, Military Images, and the Naval War College Review.
JSTOR provides a related collection of 90 journals on Peace & Conflict Studies

PTSDpubs (ProQuest)

Explore worldwide research on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD, part of the Veterans Health Administration at the VA. Public access version is available

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online is a streaming video collection covering a wide range of subjects, including the armed forces, military conflicts, and veterans issues, etc.

Select Government Resources:

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

• Veterans Policy
• National Defense
• Intelligence and National Security

Department of Defense Websites

DOD's list of its many websites, blogs, and social media accounts.

Homeland Security Digital Library

As part of the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security, HSDL provides over 250,000 selected resources related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.