LibGuides: History: Getting Started

Getting Started: Databases

Ebsco Ebooks: History

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window Platform: HeinOnline  User Guide HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 178 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Platform: JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources related to Arts, Humanities, and Sciences. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. The JSTOR Understanding Series: Linking Original Works to ScholarshipJSTOR Text Analyzer: Use a Document to Search for Similar DocumentsOrganize your Research with JSTOR WorkspaceInterview Archive: King in the Wilderness - Oral history of the last years of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.JSTOR Daily
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Points of View Reference Center Platform: EBSCO POVRS | Provided by the NJ State Library Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument), as well as a Guide to Critical Analysis.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

View full list of history databases

New York Times

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): NYTimes, NYT, New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
Platform: ProQuest
Access - from June 1, 1980 up to the current day - full text articles from the New York newspaper that is widely respected and widely read, in the U.S. and around the world. You can browse articles for a given date or do topical keyword searches for articles relevant to your interests. Unlike the Times' website version, there is no limitation on the number of articles that you can read.

Access for NYT's other versions and subsets available below:
- New York Times Online
- New York Times International Edition
- New York Times Book Review
- New York Times Magazine
- New York Times via Internet Archive, 1854-1925
- New York Times Historical Article Index, 1851-Present
  (full text available for 1855-1922 and after 1980, however it counts towards the monthly article limit for non-subscribers)

Scholarly Journals

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Equine Studies topics

Professional Resources

American Historical Association (AHA)
"The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment."
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History & New Media
"RRCHNM uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding."
H-Net Reviews Search
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review resource that has been publishing book reviews since 1993.
H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences Online
H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited networks publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussions for colleagues and the interested public.

Library of Congress Classification

Use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find similar items.

History   D1-2027
Geography & Travel   G149-180
General History of Europe
   Subclass DA-DL
General History of Asia   Subclass DS
General History of Africa
   Subclass DT
General History of North America
   Class E-F
General History of South America
   F1201-3799

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

After the Rise and Stall of American Feminism

She articulates four common causes—advancing political and economic equality, allowing intimate and sexual freedom, ending violence against women, and expanding the cultural representation of women—considering each in turn to assess what has been gained (or not).

Personal Ornaments in Prehistory

"This book shows that far from being objects of display, of little value in archaeological interpretation and often overlooked, these artifacts are key to understanding trade, relationships, values, beliefs and the construction of personal identity in the past."

Threatening Property: Race, Class, and Campaigns to Legislate Jim Crow Neighborhoods

"In Threatening Property, Elizabeth A. Herbin-Triant investigates early-twentieth-century campaigns for residential segregation laws in North Carolina to show how the version of white supremacy supported by middle-class white people differed from that supported by the elites."

The Chinese and the Iron Road: Building the Transcontinental Railroad

"The Chinese and the Iron Road illuminates more fully than ever before the interconnected economies of China and the US, how immigration across the Pacific changed both nations, the dynamics of the racism the workers encountered, the conditions under which they labored, and their role in shaping both the history of the railroad and the development of the American West."

Food Fights

Food Fights sheds new light on these crucial debates, using a historical lens. Its essays take strong positions, even arguing with one another, as they explore the many themes and tensions that define how we understand our food—from the promises and failures of agricultural technology to the politics of taste.

The Ancient Art of Transformation

"Together, these papers offer a close examination of various types of visual evidence from several cultures and periods (e.g., Etruscan, Greek, Roman, early Christian), and document how personal, societal, and historical changes become permanently fixed in the material record."

Ideology in the Middle Ages

"This interdisciplinary volume sets out to illuminate medieval thought, and to consider how the underlying values of the Middle Ages exerted significant influence in medieval society in the West."

Confederate Statues and Memorialization

"This first book in UGA Press's History in the Headlines series artfully engages the past and its influence on present racial and social tensions in an accessible format for students and interested general readers."

BOOKS IN PRINT

Pandemic 1918: eyewitness accounts from the greatest medical holocaust in modern history

"Before HIV or Ebola, there was the Spanish flu--this narrative history marks the one hundredth anniversary of an epidemic that altered world history. In three successive waves, from 1918 to 1919, influenza killed more than 50 million people.

Arguing with Zombies

This delightful new book finds Krugman at his best, turning readers into intelligent consumers of the daily news with quick, vivid sketches of the key concepts behind taxes, health care, international trade, and more.

The hundred years' war on Palestine

" A history of the Israeli/Palestinian conflict told from the Palestinian perspective, arguing the period since the Balfour Declaration of 1917 has amounted to a hundred years of colonial war against the Palestinians."

Tightrope : Americans reaching for hope

Nicholas Kristof grew up in rural Yamhill, Oregon, an area that prospered for much of the 20th century but has been devastated in the last few decades as blue-collar jobs disappeared. Kristoff's stories are representative of many places the authors write about, ranging from the Dakotas and Oklahoma to New York and Virginia. These accounts provide a picture of working-class families needlessly but profoundly damaged as a result of decades of policy mistakes.

Fault Lines: A history of the United States since 1974

"In [this book], Kruse and Zelizer reveal how the divisions of the present day began almost five decades ago, and how they were widened thanks to profound changes in our political system as well as a fracturing media landscape that was repeatedly transformed with the rise of cable TV, the internet, and social media. How did the United States become so divided? Fault Lines offers a richly told, wide-angle history view toward an answer."

El Norte: the epic and forgotten story of Hispanic North America

"Because of our shared English language and our colonial roots, the United States has prized its Anglo heritage above all others. However, as Carrie Gibson explains, the nation has much older Spanish roots--ones that have long been unacknowledged or marginalized. The Hispanic past of the United States predates the arrival of the Pilgrims by a century, and has been every bit as important in shaping the nation as it exists today."

Black New Jersey: 1664 to the present day

Historian Hodges "explores how the state’s unique mix of religious, artistic, and cultural traditions have helped to produce such world-renowned figures as Paul Robeson, Cory Booker, and Queen Latifah, as well as a host of lesser-known but equally influential New Jersey natives."

The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee: native America from 1890 to the present

"Because they did not disappear--and not despite but rather because of their intense struggles to preserve their language, their traditions, their families, and their very existence--the story of American Indians since the end of the nineteenth century to the present is one of unprecedented resourcefulness and reinvention."

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item

History: Getting Started

Getting Started: Databases

New York Times

Access for NYT's other versions and subsets available below:

Scholarly Journals

Professional Resources

Library of Congress Classification