LibGuides: Happiness: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost Search across one or more of our EBSCO databases. Select by subject or view title list. Cross-search a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research across various disciplines and subject areas including: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Ebooks, Education Source, ERIC, GreenFile, Masterfile Elite, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, and SocIndex with Full Text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Platform: Google Scholar Google Scholar is Google's attempt to index the scholarly literature that can be found on the web. It links to freely available articles on publisher websites, author websites, institutional repositories, and pre-print servers, as well as reports, online books, and other scholarly material online. In some ways it can be easier to search than subscription databases, in that it is better able to process a natural language search. Because it searches so much, and because there are very few filters included, it can also be more difficult to sort through the results. *Be sure to set up the Library Links to Centenary's full text subscriptions.
ERIC.ED.GOV This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): Education Resources Information Center Platform: eric.ed.gov ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.7 million records and links to more than 400,000 full-text articles and documents dating from 1966 to the present. Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences, this version of ERIC is freely available to everyone.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Platform: JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources related to Arts, Humanities, and Sciences. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. The JSTOR Understanding Series: Linking Original Works to ScholarshipJSTOR Text Analyzer: Use a Document to Search for Similar DocumentsOrganize your Research with JSTOR WorkspaceInterview Archive: King in the Wilderness - Oral history of the last years of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.JSTOR Daily
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Literary Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Literary Reference Source | Provided by the NJ State Library Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems. Literary Reference Source also features dozens of lesson plans and a link to EBSCO's Curriculum Standards Module, a tool that can help teachers correlate content quickly and easily to Common Core or state-specific curriculum standards. The module provides browsing of specific benchmarks, many which have recommended search strings for successful content retrieval.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Platform: GALE Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) ™ database is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): APA PsycARTICLES Platform: ProQuest PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): APA PsycINFO Platform: ProQuest The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest PTSDpubs database (formerly PILOTS) is a freely available, online database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD. Public access version is available at https://www.ptsd.va.gov/PTSD/ptsdpubs/index.asp.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health. Journal articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): MEDLINE Platform: New PubMed  User Guide PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window Platform: PubMed Central (PMC) PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Discover scholarly articles from over 2,500 journals.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Ebsco Ebooks: Psychology

View full list of psychology databases

Scholarly Journals

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Equine Studies topics

Digital Magazine Access

TML now has 2 happiness-related magazines on Flipster:

Mindful
Spirituality & Health

Where do I find books on...?

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Psychology   Subclass BF
Perception   HM1041-1101
Consciousness   BF309-499
Differential Psychology
   BF697-697.5
Developmental Psychology
   BF712-724.85
Comparative Psychology
   BF660-685
Applied Psychology   BF636-637
Addiction   RC564, HV5800-5840
Psychoses   RC512-528

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

Research Starter for Emotions
A quick guide to emotions that covers reasoning, basic emotions, similarities and differences among cultures, theories how emotions are experienced, and a bibliography

EBOOKS

Activating Happiness : A Jump-Start Guide to Overcoming Low Motivation, Depression, or Just Feeling Stuck

It's not just big choices that can radically change our lives—sometimes it's the small ones. Activating Happiness offers powerful, evidence-based strategies to help you conquer low motivation, nix negative moods, and defeat depression by actively making positive choices in small, everyday moments

Philosophies of Happiness: A Comparative Introduction to the Flourishing Life

In Philosophies of Happiness, Diana Lobel provides a rich spectrum of arguments for a theory of happiness as flourishing or well-being, offering a global, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary perspective on how to create a vital, fulfilling, and significant life. Drawing upon perspectives from a broad range of philosophical traditions.

Happiness: The Science Behind Your Smile

What exactly is happiness? Can we measure it? Why are some people happy and others not? And is there a drug that could eliminate all unhappiness? People all over the world, and throughout the ages, have thought about happiness, argued about its nature, and, most of all, desired it. But why do we have such a strong instinct to pursue happiness? And if happiness is good in itself, why haven't we simply evolved to be happier?

Happiness: Personhood, Community, Purpose

This book is about happiness and about how the supremely happy life - the life blessed with what Aristotle refers to as eudaimonia - is the life of an ethical individual living in a healthy community. Much ethical literature has drawn inspiration from Aristotle's outlook, but relatively little attention has been paid to the central concept of Aristotle's ethical system - the concept of eudaimonia.

Streaming Media

Pursuing Happiness

Join the journey and discover the secrets to living a truly happy life as two film-makers travel the country in search of the happiest people in America. Be ready to laugh and cry as they uncover real-life heartfelt stories from the most compelling characters.

The Science of Happiness

The search for happiness is your key to greater success. Do you know what makes you happy and how to get more of it? Most of us have no idea what drives our internal joy triggers. In this course you will learn that happiness is concrete and achievable. More importantly, happiness has tremendous benefits for every area of our life.

Happiness: The Emotional Brain

Drawing a distinction between the lasting state of happiness and the pursuit of instant pleasure, the program explores the evolutionary role of happiness, and asks what happens in the brain, and possibly in the genes, that makes some people happy and others sad. Since depression is the fastest growing epidemic worldwide, research on the stimulation of positive feelings has momentous possibilities. Dopamine generated in the brain is responsible for making people happy. Rats who have become addicted to dopamine disregard food in their attempt to get more dopamine and may die of starvation for their addiction.

The Happiness Equation

What’s The Formula For A Happy Life? We’ve been taught from an early age that there’s a certain way to live a happy life. We build everything in our lives - from the smallest interactions to big-picture life planning - on the assumption that this path is the right way forward.

BOOKS IN PRINT

Hygge: Discovering the Danish art of happiness

For many of us in today's crazy and hectic world of careers, family and social lives, we can often forget that the things which are simpler and give the greatest pleasure are often put to one side. The simple pleasure of sitting in silence, watching the sunset, or watching the crackle of a fire as you share a meal can often have a greater effect on our souls than any material thing.

The happiness project

Gretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. "The days are long, but the years are short," she realized. "Time is passing, and I'm not focusing enough on the things that really matter." In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project. In this lively and compelling account --- now updated with new material by the author.

The Art of Happiness

One of the world's greatest spiritual leaders teams up with a psychiatrist to share, for the first time, how he achieved his hard-won serenity and how readers can attain the same inner peace.

Sustainable happiness: the mind science of well-being, altruism, and inspiration

Today's greatest health challenges, the so-called diseases of civilization--trauma, depression, obesity, cancer--are now known in large part to reflect our inability to tame stress reflexes gone wild and to empower instead the peaceful, healing and sociable part of our nature that adapts us to civilized life.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item

Happiness: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

Scholarly Journals

Digital Magazine Access

TML now has 2 happiness-related magazines on Flipster:

Where do I find books on...?

Research Starter for Emotions