LibGuides: Global Studies: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Continental Europe Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East Europe, Central Europe Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost Search across one or more of our EBSCO databases. Select by subject or view title list. Cross-search a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research across various disciplines and subject areas including: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Ebooks, Education Source, ERIC, GreenFile, Masterfile Elite, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, and SocIndex with Full Text.

Ebsco Ebooks Global Studies

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Public access version available at http://www.europeanamericana.com/.
Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Alternative Name(s): formerly Legal Information Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Explora | Provided by the NJ State Library Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, this valuable resource contains hundreds of publications and thousands of multi-state forms to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Points of View Reference Center Platform: EBSCO POVRS | Provided by the NJ State Library Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument), as well as a Guide to Critical Analysis.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

View full list of global studies databases

Journals

Browse global studies journals by subject

Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to either [Agriculture], [Political Science], or [Science]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand and view more subcategories. Click to choose a subject, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Periodicals

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

Black Athena

What is classical about Classical civilization? In one of the most audacious works of scholarship ever written, Martin Bernal challenges the foundation of our thinking about this question. Classical civilization, he argues, has deep roots in Afroasiatic cultures.

Far from Mecca

Far from Mecca: Globalizing the Muslim Caribbean is the first academic work on Muslims in the English-speaking Caribbean. Khan focuses on the fiction, poetry, and music of Islam in Guyana, Trinidad, and Jamaica.

Asian Alleyways

Asian Alleyways: An Urban Vernacular in Times of Globalization critically explores 'Global Asia' and the metropolization process, specifically from its alleyways, which are understood as ordinary neighborhood landscapes providing the setting for everyday urban life and place-based identities being shaped by varied everyday practices, collective experiences and forces.

Just Like Us

From the founding exclusion of indigenous peoples and enslaved Africans to the uneasy welcome of waves of immigrants, from republican disavowals of colonialism to Cold War proclamations of freedom, Americans' ideas of their differences from others have shaped the modern world—and how Americans have viewed foreigners is deeply revealing of their assumptions about themselves.

BOOKS IN PRINT

Made in China

After an Oregon mother finds an SOS letter in a box of Halloween decorations, a story unfolds about the man who wrote it: a Chinese political prisoner, sentenced without trial to work grueling hours at a "reeducation" camp--manufacturing the products sold in our own big-box stores.

Travel As a Political Act

Presents advice on traveling to different countries of the world as a way of increasing our understanding of different cultures and political systems, and appreciating the interconnectedness within the global community.

The Economists' Hour

In this original history of ideas and unforgettable portrait of power, New York Times editorial writer Binyamin Appelbaum tells the story of the people who sparked four decades of economic revolution.

The Fabric of Civilization

The story of humanity is the story of textiles--as old as civilization itself. Textiles created empires and powered invention. They established trade routes and drew nations' borders. Since the first thread was spun, fabric has driven technology, business, politics, and culture.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item