Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts: Library Resources

Scholarly Journals

Browse fine arts journals by subjectClick 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Fine Arts] or [Music]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand and view more subcategories. Click to choose a subject, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Periodicals

Library of Congress Classification

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.
 

Visual Arts   N1-9211
Architecture   NA1-9428
Sculpture   NB1-1952
Drawing and Illustration   NC1-1940
Painting   ND25-3416
Printmaking   NE1-3002
--engraving, etching, lithography, etc.
Decorative Arts   N1-9990
Religious Art   NK1648-1678
Interior Decoration   NK1700-2195
Ceramics   NK3700-4695
Costume   NK4700-4890, GT500-2370
Glasswork   NK5100-5440
Metalwork   NK6400-8459
Textiles   NK8800-9505.5
Photography   TR1-1050
Music   subclass M

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and many of our databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts.

Limit Your Results
 

This box searches across Ebsco's article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, Education Source, PsycARTICLES and Sociology Index with Full Text.
Note - these databases are also searchable via Cyclone Search.

Limit Your Results
Access & Troubleshooting

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. Content includes articles that are peer-reviewed as well as newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, company profiles, industry reports, etc.  Note - these databases are not included in Cyclone Search.

Includes Dissertations & Theses at Centenary University, ProQuest Central article collections for all subjects, current newspapers as well as historical newspapers (with New York Times and Wall Street Journal among many others).

Access & Troubleshooting

Journal Title Search will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through Taylor Memorial Library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles.

Enter title (e.g. journal of cell biology) or keyword (e.g. business) or ISSN (e.g. 0425-1644)
Limit Your Results

Periodicals in Print    Look Up a DOI    Access & Troubleshooting

Search the library catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.


New Books & DVDs    More Search Options    Course Reserves List    Renew Items

Ebsco Ebook Collection provides access to over 180,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects and includes powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information you find.

Check the table of contents to determine which chapters are most relevant. Read them online, or sign up for a MyEbscohost Account to download a temporary ePub or PDF version to read offline.


Access & Troubleshooting

Centenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.


Fine Art Photoshop

Award-winning photographer and accomplished instructor Ella Putney Carlson provides a comprehensive guide to using photographs to make art using the Photoshop software. Readers will learn the creative process of making art that can be used with most raster graphics editing software.

Create Fine Art Photographs from Historic Places and Rusty Things

The authors share the gear that was used, the camera settings, the story behind the scene, and how they pre-visualized their images and looked for light (or created it) in each location. This book will inspire you to visit new “old” places and to get to know them well enough to tell their story.

Photography and the Art Market

In tracing the emergence of a robust art-world subsystem for art photography, sustaining both significant art-world presence and strong trade, the book shows the solid foundations on which today's international market is built, examines how that market is evolving, and points to future developments.

The Power and Politics of Art in Postrevolutionary Mexico

While artists and intellectuals, some of them professed Communists, sought free expression in matters both artistic and political, Smith reveals how they simultaneously learned the fine art of negotiation with the increasingly authoritarian government in order to secure clout and financial patronage.

Contemporary Muslim Fashion

A fascinating examination of a major segment of the fashion industry, this book highlights the ingenuity and creativity of Muslim designers and wearers as they deftly navigate the fashion industry while maintaining their religious and cultural identities

The Cult of the Machine

A fresh look at a bold and dynamic 20th-century American art style. This insightful publication, featuring more than 100 masterworks by artists such as Charles Sheeler, Georgia O'Keeffe, and Charles Demuth, sheds new light on the Precisionist aesthetic and the intellectual concerns, excitement, tensions, and ambivalences about industrialization that helped develop this important strand of early American modernism.

The Artist's Garden

The artist's garden' tells the intertwined stories of American art and the new American garden movement in the years on either side of the turn of the twentieth century.

Art/Fashion in the 21st Century

In 'Art/Fashion in the 21st Century', five chapters feature concise essays with profiles of the key designers, break-out stories about the most avant-garde projects and interviews with the leading lights of the art-fashion crossover phenomenon.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.


Request Item