LibGuides: Equine Studies: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
AgEcon Search This link opens in a new window Platform: AgEcon Search AgEcon Search collects, archives, and provides access to full text scholarly research materials in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost Search across one or more of our EBSCO databases. Select by subject or view title list. Cross-search a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research across various disciplines and subject areas including: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Ebooks, Education Source, ERIC, GreenFile, Masterfile Elite, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, and SocIndex with Full Text.
EconPapers This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 2 million full text journal articles in across a number of fields, in relation to economics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Platform: Google Scholar Google Scholar is Google's attempt to index the scholarly literature that can be found on the web. It links to freely available articles on publisher websites, author websites, institutional repositories, and pre-print servers, as well as reports, online books, and other scholarly material online. In some ways it can be easier to search than subscription databases, in that it is better able to process a natural language search. Because it searches so much, and because there are very few filters included, it can also be more difficult to sort through the results. *Be sure to set up the Library Links to Centenary's full text subscriptions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Platform: JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources related to Arts, Humanities, and Sciences. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. The JSTOR Understanding Series: Linking Original Works to ScholarshipJSTOR Text Analyzer: Use a Document to Search for Similar DocumentsOrganize your Research with JSTOR WorkspaceInterview Archive: King in the Wilderness - Oral history of the last years of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.JSTOR Daily
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PubAg This link opens in a new window Free access to over 300,000 full text journal articles in the agricultural sciences. Produced by the United States Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. For best results, use the Advanced Search and limit your results by Text Availability and select full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): MEDLINE Platform: New PubMed  User Guide PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Ebsco Ebooks: Equine Studies
ProQuest Ebooks: Equine Studies Access to 17 equine books. Publication dates range from 2002-2010.

View full list of equine databases

Scholarly Journals

American Journal of Veterinary Research (AVJR) This link opens in a new window Platform: American Veterinary Medical Association The mission of the American Journal of Veterinary Research is to publish, in a timely manner, peer-reviewed reports of the highest quality research that has the clear potential to enhance the health, welfare, and performance of animals and humans. The journal will maintain the highest ethical standards of scientific journalism and promote such standards among its contributors. In addition, the journal will foster global interdisciplinary cooperation in veterinary medical research. Full Text Available: 2000 - Present
Equine Veterinary Education This link opens in a new window Platform: Wiley Online Library Equine Veterinary Education (EVE) publishes peer reviewed monthly educational articles on diagnosis and treatment for equine veterinary clinicians, veterinary students and others. EVE accepts Case Reports with Clinical Commentaries, Original Articles and Reviews. Full Text Available: 2020 - Present
Equine Veterinary Journal This link opens in a new window Platform: Wiley Online Library Equine Veterinary Journal publishes evidence to improve clinical practice or expand scientific knowledge underpinning equine veterinary medicine. This unrivaled international scientific journal is published 6 times per year, containing peer-reviewed articles with original and potentially important findings. Contributions are received from sources worldwide. Full Text Available: 1997 - Present.
Journal of Equine Veterinary Science (JEVS) This link opens in a new window Platform: ScienceDirect Journal of Equine Veterinary Science (JEVS) is an international publication designed for the practicing equine veterinarian, equine researcher, and other equine health care specialist. Published monthly, each issue of JEVS includes original research, reviews, case reports, short communications, and clinical techniques from leaders in the equine veterinary field, covering such topics as laminitis, reproduction, infectious disease, parasitology, behavior, podology, internal medicine, surgery and nutrition. JEVS is also an official publication of the Equine Science Society. Full Text Available: 2009 - Present
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA) This link opens in a new window Platform: American Veterinary Medical Association Published twice monthly, this peer-reviewed, general scientific journal provides reports of clinical research, feature articles and regular columns of interest to veterinarians in private and public practice. Full Text Available: 2000 - Present
Veterinary Clinics of North America: Equine Practice This link opens in a new window Platform: ScienceDirect Published three times a year, this journal presents the most current treatment of horses, updates on the latest advances, and provides a sound basis for choosing treatment options. Full Text Available: 2014 - Present

Journal of Animal Physiology and Animal Nutrition

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Equine Studies topics

Digital Magazine Access

The library has equine magazines on Flipster:

You can also download the Flipster App on your phone:
Android | iPhone

Periodicals in Print

Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA) This link opens in a new window

Library of Congress Classification

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Equine Studies SF277-360.4, SF600-1100

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

Equine Behaviour in Mind

This book advocates a mindful approach to working with horses, encouraging the reader to think in a horse-centric way. The aim is to provide both the theory behind behaviour-minded horse management and the practical application to enable impactful changes to be made.

Knowing Your Horse: A Guide to Equine Learning, Training and Behaviour

If you understand how your horse learns and why your training is effective, you can train faster, more ethically, and more sympathetically. Emma Lethbridge thoroughly but simply explains learning theory, and how to apply it in a way that is both efficient for training and holds the horse's welfare paramount.

Taking Shergar

This riveting account of the most notorious unsolved crime in the history of horse racing will captivate serious racing fans and aficionados as well as entertain a new generation of horse racing enthusiasts.

Horses in the American West

The two dozen artists profiled here include ranch owners, working hands, professional photographers, rodeo cowboys, art instructors, graphic designers, a saddle maker, and a former predator hunter. Readers will delight in these remarkable paintings, drawings, photographs, and sculptures depicting the freedom and spirit of the American West.

The Green Horse

The Green Horse takes the reader on a journey through a time when our mountain national parks were less touristy and more substantive. When there was space for everyone to enjoy without having to line up and there was a sense of freedom and adventure in the air.

Equine Tendon in Health and Disease

This book is a guide for the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of tendon injuries that is practical, reliable, and easily understood. The chapters cover the spectrum of understanding structure and function, diagnostic modalities, treatment options, rehabilitation strategies, etiology of injury, and prevention of tendon injury.

Business Management for the Equine Industry

Written by a team of consultants who combine modern business knowledge with decades of direct experience of working in the equine industry, this book bridges the gap between modern business theory and equine business practice.

A Practical Guide to Equine Radiography

The handbook offers an informative step-by-step guide to obtaining high quality radiographs, consistently. Each chapter focuses on a separate region of the horse, offering tailored material in a clear and concise way, designed for practicing equine veterinarians and students

BOOKS IN PRINT

Equine Sports Medicine, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics of North America: Equine Practice

Equine sports medicine: our daily challenge

Practice Management, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics: Equine Practice

Current economic trends, customer service, gender shifts, and transitioning to professional practice in equine veterinary medicine.

What It Really Takes to Start and Run a Horse Business

Covers the business aspects of managing an equine industry operation.

Wound Management in the Horse, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics of North America: Equine Practice

Scholarly articles covering various aspects of managing wound care in horses.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item