Skip to Main Content

Chemistry: Library Resources

Getting Started: Databases

View full list of science databases

Scholarly Journals

Browse science journals by subject

Click 'Browse Subjects', then click the arrow next to [Agriculture], [Geography. Anthropology. Recreation] or [Science]. This will open a list of subcategories. Click the plus sign to expand and view more subcategories. Click to choose a subject, and then use the Filter button to select books or journals.

Digital Magazine Access

TML now has 1 science magazine on Flipster:
  • Discover

Where do I find books on...?

When searching for a resource in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content.

Astronomy   QB1-991
Physics   QC1-999
Chemistry   QD1-999
Inorganic Chemistry   QD146-197
Organic Chemistry   QD241-441
Natural History   QH1-278.5
Biology   QH301-705.5
Evolution   QH359-425
Genetics   QH426-470
Ecology   QH540-549.5
Botany   Subclass QK
Zoology   Subclass QL
Physiology   Subclass QP

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and many of our databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts. ProQuest databases are NOT included.

Limit Your Results
More Search Options    Look Up a DOI    Access & Troubleshooting

This box searches across Ebsco's article databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, Education Source, PsycARTICLES and Sociology Index with Full Text. These databases are also searched via Cyclone Search.

Limit Your Results
Look Up a DOI   Access & Troubleshooting

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. Content includes scholarly articles as well as newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc. These databases are not included in Cyclone Search.



Look Up a DOI   Access & Troubleshooting

Publication Finder will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through the library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles. This tool can also be used to discover ebooks and streaming videos available through library databases.

   
   
Look Up a DOI    Access & Troubleshooting

Search the library catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.


New Books & DVDs    More Search Options    Course Reserves List    Renew Items

Ebsco Ebook Collection provides access to over 260,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects.

Check the table of contents to determine which chapters are most relevant, or search within the book to find a word or phrase. Read them online, or sign up for a My EBSCO Account to download for offline reading.

Access & Troubleshooting

JSTOR logoCentenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.

      Link to Digital Archives on JSTOR

What Is Chemistry?

Atkins shows how chemistry provides the infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edge technologies.

Safe Science

This report examines the culture of safety in research institutions and makes recommendations for university leadership, laboratory researchers, and environmental health and safety professionals to support safety as a core value of their institutions. A strong, positive safety culture arises not because of a set of rules but because of a constant commitment to safety throughout an organization.

Engaging Learners with Chemistry

Engaging Learners with Chemistry sets out the approaches that have been successfully tested and implemented according to different criteria, including informative, interactive, and participatory engagement, while also considering citizenship and career perspectives. Bringing together the latest research in one volume, this book will be useful for chemistry teachers, researchers in chemistry education and professionals in the chemical industry seeking to attract students to careers in the chemical sector.

Active Learning in Organic Chemistry

Organic chemistry courses are often difficult for students, and instructors are constantly seeking new ways to improve student learning. This volume details active learning strategies implemented at a variety of institutional settings.

Kitchen Chemistry

Starting with an exploration of atoms and molecules and how they make up the world, Kitchen Chemistry goes on to discuss mixtures, reactions, states of matter, solutions, and more! By using familiar scenarios such as boiling water, baking cookies, and creating slime, kids make text-to-text, text-to-self, and text-to-world connections that deepen their understanding of the world around us and the connection to chemistry to be found in every area of life. 

Textile Chemistry

Textile Chemistry gives a detailed and explanatory overview on mainly chemical but also physical aspects of fabrics. It contains definitions, basic components and their properties, physicochemical processes, as well as chemical modification of textiles, highlighting the application of smart materials. The book also provides exercises and sample calculations, which makes it ideal for students and scientists in industry.

Communication in Chemistry

The ability to clearly communicate scientific facts to the public is an essential skill for all scientists, especially as many of the products we use in daily life function through chemistry.

Environmental Chemistry

his book is an impressive collection of ways that environmental chemistry is explored by both undergraduate and graduate students in independent research projects and course-based undergraduate research experiences.

Animal, Vegetable, Junk

How humankind first hunted and gathered explains our emergence as a new species and our earliest technology. Our first food systems, from fire to agriculture, tell where we settled and how civilizations expanded. The quest for food for growing populations drove exploration, colonialism, slavery, even capitalism. A century ago, food was industrialized. Since then, new styles of agriculture and food production have written a new chapter of human history, one that is driving both climate change and global health crises.

The Code Breaker

Driven by a passion to understand how nature works and to turn discoveries into inventions, Doudna and her collaborators turned a curiosity of nature into an invention that will transform the human race: an easy-to-use tool that can edit DNA. Known as CRISPR, it opened a brave new world of medical miracles and moral questions. Isaacson explores the development of CRISPR and the race to create vaccines for coronavirus will hasten our transition to the next great innovation revolution.

Grinnell

George Bird Grinnell, the son of a New York merchant, saw a different future for a nation in the thrall of the Industrial Age. With railroads scarring virgin lands and the formerly vast buffalo herds decimated, the country faced a crossroads: Could it pursue Manifest Destiny without destroying its natural bounty and beauty? The alarm that Grinnell sounded would spark America's conservation movement. Yet today his name has been forgotten -- an omission that John Taliaferro's commanding biography sets right with narrative flair.

An Elegant Defense

A groundbreaking narrative exploration of the human immune system--the key to human health and longevity--from the Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist and acclaimed author of A Deadly Wandering

The Tangled Tree

The Tangled Tree is a brilliant guide to our transformed understanding of evolution, of life's history, and of our own human nature.

Gene Machine

Ultimately, Gene Machine shows not just what it takes to win a Nobel Prize, but also reveals that who you know and how you handle them are just as important to scientific success as are brains, luck, and hard work.

Sleepyhead

We learn the underlying difference between morning larks and night owls; why our sleeping habits shift as we grow older; and the evolutionary significance of REM sleep and dreaming. Charming, eye-opening, and deeply humanizing, Sleepyhead will help us all uncover the secrets of a good night's sleep.

Superhuman

In Superhuman he takes us on a breathtaking tour of the peaks of human achievement that shows us what it feels like to be extraordinary--and what it takes to get there.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item