Happiness: Web Resources

This is a US government website which provides information on a variety of topics related to mental health and mental disorders.

This is a very comprehensive psychology web site designed and maintained by Dr. Russell A. Dewey of Georgia Southern University.

Website sponsored by the University of Iowa, contains the e-zine Current Research in Social Psychology.

The journal addresses the conceptualization, operationalization and measurement of happiness and well-being dimensions, as well as the individual, socio-economic and cultural factors that may interact with them as determinants or outcomes.

What is the key to finding happiness? The Harvard community explores the physical, mental, social, and spiritual aspects of living a life filled with joy.

ScholarlyCommons is the perfect venue for archiving and showcasing your department or program's undergraduate or graduates theses, dissertations, and capstones. The ScholarlyCommons team will work with your staff to determine the best workflows to ensure the long-term sustainability of your collection, including training, uploading, author agreements, and ongoing support.

The mission of the Positive Psychology Center at the University of Pennsylvania is to promote research, training, education, and the dissemination of Positive Psychology, resilience and grit.

The purpose of this website is to provide free resources where people can learn about Positive Psychology through readings, videos, research, opportunities, conferences, questionnaires with feedback and more. There is no charge for the use of this site. If you would like to take the questionnaires, you first need to register.
Positive Psychology is the scientific study of the strengths and virtues that enable individuals and communities to thrive. This field is founded on the belief that people want to lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, to cultivate what is best within themselves, and to enhance their experiences of work, love and play.

We exist to provide a science-based, trusted learning environment for helping professionals. We are honored to help practitioners at all stages of their journey make progress toward new levels of personal and professional success.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, the VIA Institute on Character is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing the science of character strengths to the world. We do so by creating and validating surveys of character, supporting researchers, and developing practical strengths-based tools for individuals and professionals, such as therapists, managers and educators. In this spirit, the VIA Survey is offered free of charge worldwide in many languages.

The “AI Commons” is a place for everyone with an interest in Appreciative Inquiry (AI) and positive change. You are invited to learn about AI, share your own AI resources, connect with our global AI community, and schedule or attend AI events such as summits, workshops, and gatherings.

The Center for Positive Organizations is dedicated to building a better world through the science and practice of thriving organizations. Our research in the field of Positive Organizational Scholarship and its practical application are helping shape important conversations and developing today’s students into tomorrow’s change agents.

Noba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License. Users may reuse, redistribute, and remix the content to suit their needs.
The goals of Noba are three-fold:
-To reduce financial burden on students by providing access to free educational content
-To provide instructors with a platform to customize educational content to better suit their curriculum
-To present free, high-quality material written by a collection of experts and authorities in the field of psychology.

This textbook represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 101 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses. This book can be modified: feel free to rearrange or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.

These courses are designed to give you a sense of mindfulness and an idea of how this course is structured. For each of the eight weeks, videos, readings and practices help you build a base of both knowledge and experience. MBSR "At a Glance" provides a brief outline of the MBSR course.
All of what you will need is accessible through this website, and whether or not you actually take yourself through the course, the wealth of material here, including videos and writings by the teachers mentioned above and others, is freely available to you.

Character Lab is a nonprofit organization that connects researchers with educators to create greater knowledge about the conditions that lead to social, emotional, academic, and physical well-being for young people throughout the country.

The website describes the association as "a professional medical organization comprised of child and adolescent psychiatrists trained to promote healthy development and to evaluate, diagnose, and treat children and adolescents and their families who are affected by disorders of feeling, thinking and behavior."

The primary advocate organization for persons with intellectual disabilities. Contains fact sheets which articulate the positions of the association.

The world's largest professional organization representing psychologists. Their mission is to promote the profession and science of psychology. The extensive website contains position papers and press releases; an area on education and career planning; public information and conference information.

The American Psychological Society is an organization dedicated to scientific psychology. Their website contains news and advocacy updates; links to other psychological associations and a listing of their convention and student caucus.

The website is produced by the New Jersey Psychological Association which is a professional organization for New Jersey Psychologists. The site contains conference and continuing education information. The association also serves as a lobbying group for psychologists.

Adam believes that great minds don’t think alike—they challenge each other to think differently. His weekly show explores new thoughts and new ways of thinking.

Research psychologist Angela Duckworth (author of Grit) and tech and sports executive Mike Maughan really like to ask people questions, and they believe there’s no such thing as a stupid one. So they have a podcast where they can ask each other as many “stupid questions” as they want. New episodes each week. No Stupid Questions is a production of the Freakonomics Radio Network.

Welcome to The Psychology Podcast. In each episode, we talk with inspiring scientists, thinkers, and other self-actualized individuals who will give you a greater understanding of yourself, others, and the world we live in. Scott Barry Kaufman explores the depths of human potential and tries to get a glimpse into human possibility in every episode.

The focus is on enhancing the wellbeing and character development of students and faculty through the teaching and practise of specific skills within a learning ecosystem where the wellbeing of all is a priority.

The International Positive Psychology Association was started in 2007 by those interested in furthering the field. Some of the early founders include Drs. Martin Seligman, Edward Diener, Raymond Fowler, and other, who sought to help the field of positive psychology to grow and flourish on a worldwide basis through expanded networks, collaboration, and support.

The Center for Positive Organizations is one of the leading global centers for the science of designing and sustaining thriving organizations.

Mindset Works is one of the global leaders in growth mindset development leveraging the pioneering research of Carol Dweck and Lisa Blackwell. The company's mission is to enable a world in which all people realize continual learning and growth.
The diverse Mindset Works team includes practitioners, coaches, leaders, and researchers who collaborate to translate academic research into products and services that nurture positive learning beliefs, habits, and cultures.

Positive Acorn is a team of seasoned professionals who are naturally creative, curious, and hungry for the newest ideas and ways of doing things. We are absolutely fascinated by the latest research in psychology and eager to work out how to apply it to coaching practices.

This organization focuses on how positive emotions affect people’s thinking patterns, social behavior, health, and physiological reactions. Their goal is to understand how positive emotions might accumulate and compound to transform people’s lives for the better.

Why is the scientific study of happiness important? In short, because most people believe that happiness is meaningful, desirable, and an important, worthy goal, because happiness is one of the most salient and significant dimensions of human experience and emotional life, because happiness yields numerous rewards for the individual, and because it makes for a better, healthier, stronger society. Dr. Lyubomirsky's website is a compilation of their studies which focuses, in part, why some people are happier than others.

Greater Good magazine turns scientific research into stories, tips, and tools for a happier life and a more compassionate society.
Through articles, videos, quizzes, and podcasts, we bridge the gap between scientific journals and people’s daily lives, particularly for parents, educators, business leaders, and health care professionals.

The World Happiness Report is a publication of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network, powered by the Gallup World Poll data. The World Happiness Report reflects a worldwide demand for more attention to happiness and well-being as criteria for government policy. It reviews the state of happiness in the world today and shows how the science of happiness explains personal and national variations in happiness.