LibGuides: Business Strategies: BUS4010

Click to Enlarge!

Important Assignment & Course Materials

Student Survey #1

Access your Textbook here for FREE!

(Select your preferred file format from the right-hand dropdown menu)

Looking for Company Information?

This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Company Profiles provide access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.

Welcome to your Library Course Guide!

This webpage provides relevant sources and useful materials you WILL need to complete your SWOT Assignment. In addition to easy access to Business, Library, and Non-Profit resources, you will also find links to your textbook and simulation login screen.

Business Databases & Collections

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central
This comprehensive business database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist and Wall Street Journal. Also includes country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (1971 - current) This link opens in a new window
Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central
This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends. This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
Business Market Research Collection (1986 - current) This link opens in a new window
Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Company Profiles
A collection from Business Source Complete containing detailed company information and analyses.
Country Reports
A collection from Business Source Complete containing comprehensive, authoritative country information available by region & publisher.

Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central
Hoover’s Company Profiles offers proprietary business information through our online platform and integrated workflow solutions. Whether you are looking for leads, companies, or industries, our data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries fuels powerful data cleansing, analysis, list building, and corporate linkage capabilities that accelerate your sales and marketing cycles.

Industry Reports
A collection from Business Source Complete containing industry overviews and market value information.
Market Research Reports
A collection from Business Source Complete containing market insight and emerging trends.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Platform: EBSCOhost | Provided by the NJ State Library
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

SWOT Analyses Index
A collection from Business Source Complete containing SWOT Analyses. Browse or search for company reports.

Library Industry Databases

Library Science Database (1970 - Current) This link opens in a new window
Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central
Library Science Database gives users full-text access to a selection of publications relevant to library and information science. It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Platform: EBSCOhost | Provided by the NJ State Library
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Public access version is available at http://www.libraryresearch.com/.

Non-Profit Journals

Journal of Nonprofit Education and Leadership
This Journal publishes quality manuscripts to disseminate the latest knowledge related to nonprofit education and leadership to help develop theory and practice. The journal seeks quantitative and/or qualitative research findings; conceptual or theoretical discussions; program best practices; teaching and research notes.

Important Articles to Read! (They wouldn't be here if they weren't helpful)

Library SWOT Analysis

by H. Michele Thomas J.D./MLIS - https://bizfluent.com/about-5498787-library-swot-analysis.html September 26, 2017

Locating and Creating SWOT Analyses

Ojala, M. (2017). Locating and Creating SWOT Analyses. Online Searcher, 41(1), 59-62.

Online Resources for Business Research

Ross, C. (2007). Online resources for business research. Choice, 44(8), 1271-1276,1278-1285.

Building a Path to the Future, Chapter 2 of Reflecting on the Future of Academic Libraries

Hernon, P., & Matthews, J. R. (2013). Reflecting on the Future of Academic and Public Libraries. Chicago: ALA Editions.

Search Tips From a Seasoned Searcher

Badke, W. E. (2018). Search Tips From a Seasoned Searcher. Online Searcher, 42(1), 59-61.

Fun With Numbers, the Business Researcher's Best Friend

Ojala, M. (2018). Fun With Numbers, the Business Researcher's Best Friend. Online Searcher, 42(1), 62-64.

Business Strategies: BUS4010

TAKE ME, I'M THE SURVEY!