Skip to Main Content

(PDS) Graduate Education Research

Freely Available Education Resources

Where to Search

Education-Specific Databases

Database Platform Description Access
ERIC via IES ERIC.ED.GOV ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.8 million records and links to more than 400,000 full-text articles and documents dating from 1966 to the present.
The IES version of ERIC will link to full text contained within the ERIC database, but does not link out to full text the library may have access to via its subscription databases. The IES version may be more fully up to date with the most recently added records than the EBSCO version.		 Public Access
ERIC via Ebsco EBSCO ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.8 million records and links to more than 400,000 full-text articles and documents dating from 1966 to the present.
The EBSCO version of ERIC provides an easier integration with full text from other databases, in a familiar searching experience. However, it may not be as fully up to date with the most recently added records as the IES version.		 Subscription

Education Journals (Open access)

Google Scholar

  • Look the article up on Google Scholar and see how many times it has been cited. This can be an indicator of how important an article is. And then you can follow through to find the articles that have cited your original article. This is called Cited Reference Searching - it is a way of following the scholarly conversation forward from your article.