Skip to main content

Faculty Guide to Library Instruction

Workshop Wednesdays

All workshops take place in the Library Instruction Room from 3pm-4pm.

Spring 2020

January 29, 2020 - Staying Up-to-Date: Transitioning to Digital Newspapers

Did you know you can access a variety of newspaper articles from the library's digital holdings? It's easy! This workshop will demonstrate how to access five of the nation's most well known newspapers including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.

Why attend? As more and more people consume news solely online, it is important to develop an effective digital strategy to remain informed of local, national, and international news.

February 19, 2020 - Talk Green to Me: Research in Environmental Sustainability

How much do you know about environmental issues and sustainable living? Put your knowledge to the test! This interactive workshop will guide you through research practices to help answer how and why reducing our personal footprints and thinking green can effect people, planet, and profit.

Why attend? Sustainability is an important trans-disciplinary topic that incorporates goals and practices relevant to many organizations and areas of study including -- but not limited to-- environmental sciences, fashion ethics, and economics.

March 18, 2020 - The Art of Access: Everything Ebsco Ebooks

Are you looking for 24/7 access to library resources? Our Electronic Book Collection provides anytime access to over 180,000 full-text titles covering a wide range of academic disciplines and includes powerful tools to find, use, and manage the ebooks you find.

Why attend? Attendees will learn how to create and manage a "My EbscoHost Account" to more easily access, download, and save electronic books from our digital collections.

Fall 2019

September 11, 2019 - Psychology Resources

Calling all Psych Students! This workshop will focus on conducting undergraduate-level research to complete a literature review. We will cover how to locate scholarly literature, stay organized, and synthesize ideas. Psychology resources including PsychARTICLES and PsychINFO will be discussed.

October 2, 2019 - Science Resources

How do I evaluate scientific sources on the web? Are there library databases I can use? What is the difference between a scholarly source and a news source? This workshop will help answer these questions and focus on conducting undergraduate-level research to ensure you're using the best sources for your next research project. 

October 16, 2019 - Fashion Resources

This workshop will cover the various types of sources within the fashion industry with a focus on free, open-sourced web resources within the color management, costume design, fashion retailing, and textiles fields.

November 13, 2019 - Criminal Justice Resources

This workshop will cover how to find books, ebooks, articles, and web resources in topics related to criminology, death investigation, and forensics. Learn tips and tricks for navigating the Library's website and searching using databases like Nexis Uni and the Library's Criminal Justice Database.