Skip to main content

Taylor Memorial Library Archives: Policies and Forms

 

Centenary University Archives welcomes donations aligned with criteria put forth in our collection policies as stated below. They are also available for download.

 

Centenary University Archives Policy                     

Statement of Purpose

The Archives serves as a repository that provides preservation of and access to records of enduring value to Centenary University and which demonstrate Centenary’s historic, cultural, and academic legacy. Our purpose, in conjunction with mission of the University, is to document the history of Centenary and provide primary resource materials for faculty, staff, students, or alumni who wish to learn about Centenary's rich history.

Mission

  • To appraise, organize, describe, preserve, and make accessible records and materials of enduring historical value to Centenary University.
  • To provide facilities for the proper storage and preservation of such materials.
  • To provide access to and promote the use of its collections by faculty, staff, students, and alumni.
  • To foster and promote knowledge about Centenary's origins and history.
  • To maintain proper management of records through policies and procedures that ensure the proper preservation of materials.

Collection Development Policy

         1. Records and Papers of Centenary University

Materials accepted by Centenary University Archives include evidence (of all formats) that will serve to document the history of Centenary University. This includes but is not limited to departmental records, meeting minutes, correspondence, ledgers, yearbooks, diplomas, photographs, audio/visual materials, alumni records, books/maps, bills/receipts, posters/flyers, records of student organizations.

         2. Personal/Professional Papers

Archives seek to gain and provide access to the papers of Centenary University faculty and students in order to document the culture of the campus community.

         3. Special Collections

This includes photographs, audio/visual materials, family records, ephemera (bills/receipts/posters/flyers), autograph collection,  books/maps/atlases, deeds/indentures, genealogy collections.

         4.  Vertical Files

This reference collection includes directories, publications, yearbooks, books, finding aids, and material inventories.

Access Policy

Arranging a Research Visit

Materials from the archives may be made available upon request. Researchers must contact the Library staff in advance in order to set up an appointment with an archivist. Please call 908-852-1400 x2345 or e-mail libraryarchives@centenaryuniversity.edu to set up an appointment. Drop-in appointments cannot be accommodated.

Use of Materials

Materials are stored in closed stacks and can be retrieved by archival staff for researchers to view dependent upon the nature of the request.  Many collections are organized and feature finding aids, others are partially organized but still accessible. A number of our collections have also been digitized.  Archives staff can assist researchers in the use of digital collections or finding aids, which are available in-house and online.

Photocopies/Scanning/Cameras

Reproduction of archival materials for research purposes may be requested depending upon the condition of the materials.  Copying services are contingent based on the size of the request.  Many collections have been digitized and are readily available for search and download through our digital collections.

Acquisition Policy

Items of enduring historical and research value to Centenary University will be acquired by the Archives. Items of enduring value include those which demonstrate the history of Centenary and its academic and cultural legacy as well as document its growth and operation over time. Various documents as well as administrative, faculty, staff, student, and alumni histories and publications are considered to have value.

Accessioning Checklist

  • Is the item relevant to the history of Centenary?
  • Who created the item? (offices/departments/individuals involved)
  • Does the Archives already have a copy of the item?  No more than 5 copies of an item will be retained.
  • What condition is the item in? Can the archives care for it properly with its resources?
  • If the item is a donation, does the donor have the right to offer it as a gift? (legal ownership)
  • Can the item/material be found elsewhere?

Donations

Donations of documents, photographs or other materials related to the history of Centenary or the surrounding area may be accepted with respect to resources and available space and that the materials may be used for research.

Ownership

All items acquired by or donated to the Centenary University Archives will become the sole property of the Archives and Centenary University.  Donors are encouraged to transfer copyright as well in order to keep materials accessible for research. The Archives will have sole authority regarding the arrangement, use, and disposition of accessioned materials.

Types of Material

Media in any format may be accepted by the Archives provided it can be properly cared for and preserved.  This may include print or visual materials as well as audio/video recordings or other various formats.

Digitization

The Archives may decide to digitize some collections for the purposes of access and preservation. Upon digitization, items may be kept, destroyed, or returned to the donor.

De-accessioning Policy

Any item the Archives deems no longer relevant to the collection based on these policies may be de-accessioned.  This will not occur without written approval of the Library Director.  Records and information relating to de-accessioned materials will be kept by the Archives. Any item the Archives can no longer properly care for may be de- accessioned.

 

 

Policies written based on SAA Guidelines for College & University Archives

Taylor Memorial Library Archives Collection Policy

 


              Contact us!

               Colleen Bain, Archivist
               (908) 852-1400 x2244

               Wendi Blewett, Archival Assistant
               (908) 852-1400 x2161

               libraryarchives@centenaryuniversity.edu