LibGuides: Writing: Home

Getting Started: Databases

Ebsco Ebooks: Writing Skills

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Partially provided by the NJ State Library Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window Platform: GALE Contemporary Authors provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Literature Criticism Online includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals Dictionary of Literary Biography provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. All three databases, along with Gale Literature Resource Center, are cross-searchable through one single platform called Gale Literature.
Flipster This link opens in a new window Platform: Flipster Flipster is a digital magazine service that makes it easy to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. Current magazines include: ABILITY Magazine, Advocate, Animal Wellness, The Atlantic, Discover, Equus, Horse Illustrated, Practical Horseman, Sew News, Spirituality & Health, and Vogue. Past issues are available for Mindful and Yoga Journal
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Platform: JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources related to Arts, Humanities, and Sciences. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. The JSTOR Understanding Series: Linking Original Works to ScholarshipJSTOR Text Analyzer: Use a Document to Search for Similar DocumentsOrganize your Research with JSTOR WorkspaceInterview Archive: King in the Wilderness - Oral history of the last years of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.JSTOR Daily
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Provided by the NJ State Library Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Public access version is available at http://www.libraryresearch.com/.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Literary Reference Center Platform: EBSCO Literary Reference Source | Provided by the NJ State Library Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems. Literary Reference Source also features dozens of lesson plans and a link to EBSCO's Curriculum Standards Module, a tool that can help teachers correlate content quickly and easily to Common Core or state-specific curriculum standards. The module provides browsing of specific benchmarks, many which have recommended search strings for successful content retrieval.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Platform: GALE Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Platform: EBSCOhost | Provided by the NJ State Library Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Alternate Name(s): formerly Points of View Reference Center Platform: EBSCO POVRS | Provided by the NJ State Library Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument), as well as a Guide to Critical Analysis.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest  User Guide Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window Platform: ProQuest | Subset of ProQuest Central Search several news databases all at once, archives both historical and current, including: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, US Newstreams

New York Times

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): NYTimes, NYT, New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
Platform: ProQuest
Access - from June 1, 1980 up to the current day - full text articles from the New York newspaper that is widely respected and widely read, in the U.S. and around the world. You can browse articles for a given date or do topical keyword searches for articles relevant to your interests. Unlike the Times' website version, there is no limitation on the number of articles that you can read.

Access for NYT's other versions and subsets available below:
- New York Times Online
- New York Times International Edition
- New York Times Book Review
- New York Times Magazine
- New York Times via Internet Archive, 1854-1925
- New York Times Historical Article Index, 1851-Present
  (full text available for 1855-1922 and after 1980, however it counts towards the monthly article limit for non-subscribers)

Writing Journals

Search / Browse Publication Finder for more journals related to Writing topics

Where do I find books on...?

When searching for books in the library, you can use a Library of Congress Classification Number to search the catalog, to find the exact location of an item and to find more items that have similar content, or use the number to browse the shelves.

Language   Subclass PJ
Etymology   P321-324.5
Dictionaries   Subclass AG
English & Old English   PE101-458
Grammar   P101-410
English Literature   Subclass PR

EBSCO Articles ProQuest Archives Look Up a DOI Publication Finder

EBOOKS

Writing, Redefined

When most of us think of writing we think of pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard. Shawna Coppola would challenge us.

Discovering the Footsteps of Time

Discovering the Footsteps of Time probes the development of a distinctively Scottish tradition of geological travel writing from the seventeenth to early nineteenth century.

On Writtenness

This book develops the concept of 'writtenness' to highlight the demands, taken-for-granted ideals, institutional frictions, and changing circumstances of academic writing in English in the contemporary international university.

Information Literacy and Writing Studies in Conversation

This book is intended to help widen and deepen the conversations between librarians and compositionists.

BOOKS IN PRINT

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Seventh Edition is the NEW official source for APA Style. It is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.

MLA Handbook

The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.

Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology

Offers practical guidance for understanding and implementing APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards (JARS) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS) for quantitative research. These standards provide the essential information researchers need to report, including detailed accounts of the methods they followed, data results and analysis, interpretations of their findings, and implications for future research.

Why They Can't Write

There seems to be widespread agreement that--when it comes to the writing skills of college students--we are in the midst of a crisis. In Why They Can't Write, John Warner, who taught writing at the college level for two decades, argues that the problem isn't caused by a lack of rigor, or smartphones, or some generational character defect. Instead, he asserts, we're teaching writing wrong.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that gives you access to resources at other libraries. If you need a specific book or article that Taylor Memorial Library does not have, let us know and we will work with other libraries to get a copy for you.

Allow up to 2 weeks for books/media and 3-5 days for journal articles (PDFs) to arrive.

Request Item

Writing: Home

Getting Started: Databases

New York Times

Access for NYT's other versions and subsets available below:

Writing Journals

Where do I find books on...?