Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School for Professional Studies: Welcome

This Guide was created specifically for students enrolled in the School for Professional Studies (SPS) at Centenary University.

This box searches most library resources including books and ebooks, video and DVDs, and databases with access to full-text electronic journal articles, newspapers, and abstracts.

Limit Your Results

Search 40+ ProQuest databases. (Note - these databases are not included in the Everything Ebsco search.)

Journal Title Search will help you determine whether a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper title is available in full-text through Taylor Memorial Library's database subscriptions. If available, online journals can be browsed or searched for articles.

Enter title (e.g. journal of cell biology) or keyword (e.g. business) or ISSN (e.g. 0425-1644)
Limit Your Results

Periodicals in Print    Look Up a DOI

Search the catalog for books, print periodicals, DVDs and other physical media held in Taylor Memorial Library's collection.



More Search Options    Course Reserves List    Renew Items

Ebsco Ebooks provides access to over 170,000 full-text e-books covering a wide range of subjects and includes powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information you find.

Centenary University Archives is home to all materials related to the history of Centenary, including documents, photographs, publications, artwork, and other artifacts. If you want to research people, places, or events related to Centenary, the Archives is a good place to start.

 

 

University Archives   Archives Blog   Browse Our Digital Collections   DSpace

Help for SPS Faculty

Faculty, we are eager to help you integrate information literacy concepts into your courses. Request a library information session by emailing Instruction Librarian, Sara Purifoy. (Contact information below.)

Don't forget to tell your students to take advantage of Library Office Hours and attend Research Skills & APA Format Workshops held in Parsipanny! Click here for the schedule.

Your Librarian

Sara Purifoy's picture
Sara Purifoy
Contact:
University Instruction Librarian
Taylor Memorial Library
400 Jefferson Street
Hackettstown, NJ 07840

sara.purifoy@centenaryuniversity.edu
908-852-1400 x2550

Chat Reference

chat loading...

You can also download the free Ask-A-Librarian app

Welcome to Taylor Memorial Library Libguides!

What's available?

As an SPS student, you may wonder to what extent library resources and services are available to you.  The staff at Taylor Memorial Library is committed to helping all students succeed, whether they are learning face-to-face or online.  You may not be able to drop by to browse physical books and magazines, print off a paper, or study in one of our cozy chairs but...

Most of what we have to offer is available to you!

Search the databases to find journal articles and read electronic books online

All of our electronic resources are available 24/7 with a Centenary University login

If you need help with accessing, selecting, or using library resources, you can contact us by telephone, email, or chat. A librarian is always at the Circulation and Research Desk ready to provide assistance to all SPS students. Be on the lookout for Library Office Hours and Research Skills & APA Format Workshops at the Parsippany campus too!

Request a one-on-one research consultation with a librarian or attend a librarian-led research workshop

SPS students also have access to our print book collection. We know that it might be impossible to visit the library in person to check out a book, so we offer a book delivery service running back and forth between Hackettstown and Parsipanny. Students wishing to access an item in our physical collection can request the item by filling out the appropriate form. Similarly, if a student needs a journal article that is not available through any of our database subscriptions, fill out an Interlibrary Loan request.  Through this free service, we request the article from another library that does have it and contact you when it arrives.

Request print books be sent from our physical collections or acquire articles through Interlibrary Loan

How to Use this Guide

LibGuides is an easy-to-use content management system (CMS) utilized by thousands of libraries worldwide. The platform allows Librarians to curate knowledge and share information with a large audience by offering instructional services and organized subject-specific resources online. Taylor Memorial Library uses Libguides as its main website. All resources can be accessed through it.

This Guide was created specifically for students enrolled in the School for Professional Studies at Centenary University.

Parts of a LibGuide & Navigation

  •  Pages

Guides are usually made up of several pages. The navigational tabs running along the top of the page will take you from page to page. Some tabs will link you out to separate guides and open in a new window.

  • Boxes

Pages are made up of several boxes that contain the bulk of that page's content. Some boxes are unique to a particular Guide or page, while others appear on many guides or pages. Any links to additional resources in the text will be highlighted in blue.