Skip to main content

Coronavirus: Library Services: Home

Contact Us

chat loading...

Virtual Reference

Have a question or need help?

  Ask a Librarian!

Librarians will make every effort to contact you within one business day!

Video Appointments

We now offer video reference via the conferencing app Zoom! Download for free today!

Please email a librarian to set up a face-to-face virtual research appointment:

maryanne.fegan@centenaryuniversity.edu

sara.purifoy@centenaryuniversity.edu

amy.hayes@centenaryuniversity.edu

We also offer Audio & Video Chat Reference through Microsoft Teams! Teams is a Microsoft-O 365 App that is available to all students, faculty, and staff that have a Microsoft Centenary Email. Sign into Office 365 to get started with Teams.

Please note: If you are using the online version of Teams, you must use Chrome to enable audio calls or video conferencing AND use library databases.

Contact a Librarian to set up a meeting.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Response

Centenary University and Taylor Memorial Library continue to monitor the impact of the novel Coronavirus. Please refer to Centenary's Coronavirus Campus Communication site for the latest campus information.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

State of New Jersey COVID-19 Information Hub

New Jersey Department of Health

New Jersey State Library COVID-19 Resources

This page will provide updates on the status of the library and instructional services within the University’s COVID-19 response. Every effort will be made to keep this page up-to-date as we learn new information about the virus and what is expected of our campus community.

This information is current as of 1:30pm, Monday, March 23, 2020 and is subject to change at any time.


 

Visiting Taylor Memorial Library

To minimize the risk of COVID-19 transmission, the Library is closed until further notice, in compliance with NJ Governor Murphy's recent announcement. Most of our resources and services remain available digitally. We are also providing updates on our Instagram page.

Our staff will be available Monday-Friday to assist with user needs remotely.


 

Online Access to Library Resources

Students, faculty, and staff members have 24/7 off campus access to digital library materials (articles from journals, ebooks, scanned Archives materials, etc.) through our Master Search Box and library databases.  *When accessing library resources from off campus, users will be prompted to sign in using their campus credentials for authentication.

 

Resources for instructors:

Instructors are encouraged to replace physical resources with digital resources where possible, using materials that are available in the library’s full-text databases or that are freely available online.

  Free textbook access provided by VitalSource

VitalSource Textbook Access

VitalSource Bookshelf supports students who may have lost access to course materials due to a campus moving online to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. can now access a large selection of online textbooks through May 25, 2020, at no charge. This program is made possible by the support of leading publishers, campus retailers, and independent bookstores in higher education.
  1. Create a new account  (Use your Centenary email address)
    You will receive a confirmation email to activate your new Vitalsource Bookshelf account.
  2. Once you're in, click Explore and start searching for your textbooks, by title.


JoVE Science Education Video Library

JoVE is offering free access to its JoVE Science Education video library through June 15, 2020. The product is especially helpful for communicating lab fundamentals through video demonstrations.


Films on Demand

Infobase is offering free access to Films on Demand and several other databases for higher ed institutions through April 30th!

Email library@centenaryuniversity.edu for login info and gain access to the following:

  • World News Digest 
  • Bloom’s Literature
  • Issues & Controversies 
  • Ferguson’s Career Guidance
  • Today’s Science
  • Writer’s Reference  
  • Films On Demand Master Collection 

Gale In Context

Gale is providing free access to its Gale In Context database, which offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking and problem solving. Covers current topics of interest, and includes news content, as well as hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections

 

Research & Reference Support

Librarians and Library staff will make every attempt to respond to questions as quickly as possible.

Librarians will continue to support the University community with a range of services to enable and enhance remote teaching and learning. Support includes:

  • virtual research & reference help (Ask a Librarian!, Online Chat & Zoom Video Reference, Teams Audio & Video Reference)
  • Research 101
  • help accessing digital materials
  • remote instruction (please email sara.purifoy@centenaryuniversity.edu to discuss)

 

 

ALL Borrowed Library Books and DVDs Renewed

If you have library materials checked out, and aren't sure what to do with them - know that we have renewed all items through the end of the semester.

  • Please hang on to your library books and/or DVDs until the end of the semester / until the library re-opens. We have renewed all borrowed items, so you will not be charged any fines.
  • Since the library building is now closed until further notice, we can no longer provide Book Drop access. You will be able to return your borrowed library items when the library re-opens.

Library Events

The following library events have been impacted by the campus Coronavirus (COVID-19) response: 

  • 3/16/20 - Student Speaker Series - Minnesota: The Land of 10,000 Lakes - CANCELED
  • 3/18/20 - Workshop Wednesday - The Art of Access: Everything Ebsco Ebooks - CANCELED
  • 3/20/20 - Storytime - CANCELED
  • 3/22/20 - Sunday Funday - CANCELED
  • 3/25/20 - Lunchtime Book Discussion, Beartown - CANCELED
  • 3/27/20 - Storytime - CANCELED

 

Interlibrary Loan Service Delays

Please be aware that interlibrary loan response time may be affected.

  • We will process article requests as quickly as we can, but please note that it may take a bit longer than usual.
  • Due to temporary closure of many libraries, interlibrary book borrowing services are currently suspended.