LibGuides: Business: Web Resources

General

Annual Reports
Business reports of companies traded on U.S. stock exchanges.
Business & Human Rights
Tracks the positive and negative impact of over 6000 companies worldwide.
National Bureau of Economic Research
"A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works."
SEC Filings & Forms
Index of filings made by corporations to the Securities and Exchange Commission that are available to the public.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau seeks to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Provides support to small businesses and small-business owners across the country.

Accounting: General

Accounting and Tax Sites Directory
The site provides links to a variety of accounting resources.

Accounting Net
Maintained by accountants, the website contains links to societies, associations and a terminology search engine.
AuditNet
Developed by Jim Kaplan, an auditor and a journalist, this website offers extensive information and links about auditing.
FDIC Banking Data and Statistics
Access comprehensive financial & structural information about every FDIC-insured institution.
Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance provides corporate financial information, including stock history, news, reports, analyst opinions and key statistics.

Accounting: Associations

American Accounting Association
The organization promotes worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice.
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
The American Institute of CPAs is the world’s largest member association representing the accounting profession. This website contains news, conference information, and links to state boards with accountancy certification. The AICPA advocates for the profession and provides links to federal legislative and regulatory information.
Financial Executives International
FEI connects senior-level financial executives, defines the profession, exchanges ideas about best practices, educates members and others and works with the government to improve the general economy.
New Jersey Society of Certified Public Accountants
This is an information resource for and about CPAs in New Jersey.

Accounting: Sarbanes-Oxley Act

Deloitte, Touche & Tohmatsu Guide
A number of articles about the Sarbanes-Oxley Act are available at this site.
FAQs about the Sarbanes-Oxley Act
Provided by the US Securities and Exchange Commission, Division of Corporation Finance.
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
Created as part of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 as a division of the SEC, this organization overseas the financial practices of public companies and accounting firms.
Spotlight on Sarbanes-Oxley Rulemaking and Reports
Information about the Sarbanes-Oxley Act that is provided by the US Securities and Exchange Commission.

Accounting: Standards

Financial Accounting Standards Board
FASB is the independent, private-sector, not-for-profit organization that establishes financial accounting and reporting standards for public and private companies and not-for-profit organizations that follow Generally Accepted Accounting Principles.
Government Accounting Standards Board
This organization establishes and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors and users of those financial reports.
International Financial Reporting Standards
This organization develops IFRS Standards that bring transparency, accountability and efficiency to financial markets around the world.
New Jersey State Board of Accountancy
Licensing and regulatory agency for accountants in New Jersey.

Accounting: Taxation

Internal Revenue Service
The Internal Revenue Service web page.
New Jersey Tax Courts Online
The site contains information about New Jersey tax court and access to court related tax forms.
New Jersey Taxation
Website for the New Jersey Division of Taxation, Department of the Treasury.
Tax Resources on the Web
The site on contains a comprehensive listing of tax issues, compiled by Alan Kalman MST.
United States Tax Court
The website contains information about tax court and provides dockets, opinions, and forms.

Facilities Management: General

American Planning Association
APA is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides leadership in the development of vital communities.
Athletic Business
A magazine devoted to the sports, fitness, and recreation industries.
New Jersey Business
Contains information about starting, owning and operating a business in New Jersey. Includes information about licensing, permits and business registration.
Washington State University Extension Energy Program
This program provides energy services, products, education and information with a focus on advancing the environmental and economic well-being of its customers. Included are sections about building, industrial and agricultural efficiency; renewable energy; public facilities support; and research and evaluation.

Facilities Management: Accessibility

American Disabilities Act
Construction and operations of facilities must comply the provisions of the American Disabilities Act. The website provides access to guides and standards.

Facilities Management: Concessions/Contractors

AraMark
Company that provides food service, uniforms, and facilities management.
Chartwells - Compass Group
Company that provides food, hospitality, and support services.
Cleaning and Maintenance Management Online
This company strives to be the leading supplier of information for managers, supervisors and end users in the commercial cleaning and maintenance industry.

Facilities Management: Structure

Club Manager Association of America
The Club Managers Association of America (CMAA) is the professional Association for managers of membership clubs.
North American Society for Sports Management
The North American Society for Sport Management seeks to promote, stimulate, and encourage study, research, scholarly writing, and professional development in the area of sport management.
Sportplex Operators and Developers Association
This website provides information about the techniques and theories of sportsplex management and operation and about owners, directors and operators of sports facilities. It also includes information on conferences, programs and services.
Stadium Managers Association
SMA is dedicated exclusively to stadium operations and promotes professional, efficient and state-of-the-art management of stadiums around the world.

Facilities Management: Parking Planning

Public government sources may provide helpful guidance and tool with dealing with transportation, traffic flow and parking issues. Information from the locality where you plan to operate a business will also be necessary. To obtain local information, Google the name of the town or contact the town planner.

New Jersey Department of Transportation
Rules, regulations, procedures and processes involved when doing business in New Jersey.
Chester County (PA) Parking Design
The government of Chester County (PA) describes optimum strategy and design for parking.

Facilities Management: Personnel/Labor Relations

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Contains information about the requirements involved when hiring and employing people in the State of New Jersey.
Occupational Safety and Health Association (OSHA)
Occupational Safety and Health Association assures safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

Facilities Management: Seating Pricing

Ticket Printing.com
Although this is a vendor website, the ticket pricing calculator may be a useful tool.

Marketing: General

Brand Channels
Brand Channel offers "original news, commentary and analysis from our journalists along with outside contributions, white papers, job openings and more."
Citi-Data.com
By collecting and analyzing data from numerous sources, City Data is able to create detailed, informative profiles of all cities in the United States.
Know This
The website offers in-depth tutorials that take users through the principles of marketing and marketing plans.
Knowledge@Wharton
This website contains a number of articles about marketing.

Marketing: Advertising

AdAccess
Duke University has provided access to more than 7,000 advertisements that appeared in print from 1911 to 1955.
Night of the Ad Eaters
The website was produced by an organization that recognizes excellence in advertising. It contains a video library of advertisements.

Marketing: Associations

American Marketing Association
The American Marketing Association is the largest association for marketing professionals.
Direct Marketing Association
The Direct Marketing Association describes itself as the largest organization for innovators, artists, creators, writers, analysts, strategists, and makers of all things related to marketing and powered by data.

Marketing: Government Resources

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
The Department of Labor provides statistical information about New Jersey’s economy and serves as launch point for job seekers.
New Jersey Gateway Registry Service
This service aims to "provide accurate, efficient and responsive services to the business community, taxpayers and State government in the following areas: return and payment processing; revenue recording; business registration and commercial information access; non-tax debt collection; electronic government; and electronic imaging and storage."
Small Business
This is a government agency that aims to "aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation."
Taking Care of Business NJ
The page is part of the official New Jersey Web Site. It contains information and interactive forms that are needed for registering and conducting business in New Jersey.
US Copyright Office
The U.S. Copyright Office advances the arts and protects the works of authors. Information about copyright laws, searching copyright records and registering a work.
US Department of Commerce
The Department of Commerce web site aims to "to create the conditions for economic growth and opportunity" and contains a variety of economic statistics.
US Department of Labor
The DOL fosters, promotes and develops the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers and retirees of the United States; improves working conditions; advances opportunities for profitable employment; and assures work-related benefits and rights.
US Department of the Census
The Census provides a range of information including, demographic information about people and households, economic data and information on a range of special topics. The NAICS numbers are particularly important.
US Patent and Trademark Office
As a mechanism that protects new ideas and investments in innovation and creativity, the USPTO is at the cutting edge of the nation's technological progress and achievement. Laws and regulations about patents are available on this site as well as information on searching for and registering patents.

Marketing: Social Networks

Facebook
The most widely-used service for social and business networking.
LinkedIn
LinkedIn provides social networking for business people.

Marketing: Survey Tools

Survey Monkey
The service provides an online mechanism to launch surveys. Small non-commercial surveys are provided for free. Longer, more detailed surveys are fee-based.

Sports Management: General

Brand Channel
Brand Channel contains a wide variety of information: news, reports, directories, career information, links to its sister website, Interlink, and sports content.
Career Paths
Career guides created by experienced recruiters and industry leaders on topics such as salary, work environment, skills, and advancement opportunities.
Institute for Public Relations
A non-profit organization dedicated to research in, on, and for public relations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Olympics
Official website of the Olympic Games.
Special Olympics
Through the power of sport, the Special Olympics strives to create a better world by fostering the acceptance and inclusion of all people.
Sports Logos
The website is a virtual museum that is dedicated to providing information about the history of sports logos and sports uniforms.
The Business Journal
The website provides information about companies, executives and careers, focusing on major metropolitan areas and sports business news.

Sports Management: Associations

Association for Women in Sports Media
The association promotes women in sports media and a fair portrayal of women in sports, and it provides scholarships and internships.
Fantasy Sports Trade Association
The association is engaged in industry research, and they provide industry awards and networking opportunities.
National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics
A number of collegiate associations are located at this site. This association is primarily involved in education via conferences and awards.
National Association of Sports and Physical Education
NASPE's mission is to enhance knowledge, improve professional practice and increase support for high quality physical education, sports and physical activity programs.
National Sporting Goods Association
The association is involved in advocacy, education, publication, research and education. It also has a sporting goods Hall of Fame.
National Sports Marketing Network
A professional sports marketing association that provides educational and networking opportunities and leads discussions of industry issues.
NCAA National Collegiate Athletic Association
The NCAA is a governing organization for college sports.
North American Society of Sports Management
The North American Society for Sport Management promotes, stimulates and encourages study, research, scholarly writing and professional development in the theoretical and applied areas of sports management.
Sports Marketing Association
The association creates bridges between sports marketing professionals and academics. Its primary event is an annual conference.
Team USA
This is the official site of the USA Olympic committee.

Facilities Management: Funding

Grants Foundation Center
The Foundation Center provides the most comprehensive information concerning where to find grants and how to qualify for them.
Loans Small Business Administration
The Small Business Administration provides information about starting and building your own business. It is a good source of information about procuring loans.

Facilities Management: Industry

Hospitality Design
Trade publication covering information and trends in restaurant, hotel, and commercial interior design.
IEG
Sponsorship are often handled via agents and consultants. IEG is an example of this type of organization.
National Institute of Building Science
A non-profit, non-governmental organization that focuses on the identification and resolution of problems and potential problems that hamper the construction of safe, affordable structures for housing, commerce and industry throughout the United States.

Economics: General

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve (Statistical and Historical Data)
This website contains a variety of historical, statistical, economic, financial and banking information.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the United States economy by providing the most timely, relevant and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is part of the Department of Labor. Its website contains a variety of information, including the consumer price index, unemployment rate, and other reports and statistics.
Economics and Statistics Administration
The official website of the Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA).
International Labour Organization
The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO has brought together governments, employers and workers representatives of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
International Monetary Fund
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth and reduce poverty around the world.
Survey of Economic Forecasters
The Survey of Professional Forecasters is the oldest quarterly survey of macroeconomic forecasts in the United States.
United States Census Bureau Home Page
The United States Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
United Nations Statistical Databases
The United States Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. They compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
The White House: Council of Economic Advisors
This website offers official White House announcements, news and information related to economic issues, such as financial reform and innovation.
World Bank
The World Bank focuses on the economies of developing countries, and it consists of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA).
The World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum is an independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.
World Federation of Exchanges
The World Federation of Exchanges is the global trade association for the operators of regulated financial exchanges.

Finance: General

Bankrate
Bankrate contains information about more than 300 financial products. These products include mortgages, auto loan, money market accounts, checking accounts, CD rates, home equity loans and banking frees.
Barron's
Read this week's issue of Barron's online for free.
Baruch College Guide to Financial Statements
Baruch College provides a tutorial about financial statements.
Big Charts
Big Charts is produced by MarketWatch, a respected producer of business information.
Big Charts Market Watch
This website provides news and stock market quotes.
CNN Money
This website is provided by CNN and the publisher of Money magazine and contains articles about investing.
Google Finance
Google Finance aggregates company information. Some of the information is presented graphically.
Investing In Bonds
This website is a unique source of bond price information and includes a wide variety of market data, news, commentary and information about bonds.
Investor.gov
The SEC's Investor.gov: Tools to check your investment professional, compound interest calculators, and other objective resources for the average investor.
Investor Guide
This website contains up-to-date stock information and market commentaries.
Morningstar
Morningstar provides stock market analysis; equity, mutual fund, and ETF research, ratings and picks; portfolio tools; and option, hedge fund, IRA, 401k and 529 plan research. A subscription is required to access some areas of this website.
Motley Fool
A financial forum and collection of guides for the individual investor.
Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board
This website provides information about municipal bonds.
Mutual Funds Investors Center
The site is designed to help investors learn the basics about mutual fund investing and how they can use mutual funds to reach lifetime goals.
Research Magazine
Browse through issues of Research Magazine, which provides articles of relevance to the investment adviser.
S&P Dow Jones Indices
S&P Dow Jones Indices provides access to the latest information on index policies, industry regulations, and market consultations.
Small Business Administration
The Small Business Administration is an independent agency that was established to assist and protect the interests of small businesses in the United States.
Market Watch
This online magazine provides news and information about personal finance.
Standard and Poor's
Standard and Poor's provides independent insight, analysis and information to the financial community.
The Street
This website provides personal investment advice, news, quotes, financial research and analysis.
ValuePro
The website uses discounted cash flow to determine the value of a stock.
Security and Exchange Commission (SEC)
The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly and efficient markets and facilitate capital formation. EDGAR, the source of SEC reports, is located in this database.

Finance: Associations

American Finance Association
The American Finance Association is the publisher of the Journal of Finance. The journal content can be searched, but there is a fee to read the articles.

Finance: Government

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
This website provides news, data and recent developments regarding the Federal Reserve.
Congressional Budget Office
The Congressional Budget Office website contains congressional reports, testimony and federal budget statistics.
Department of the Treasury
Federal information on financial news and topics is available. Topics are divided into Consumer Policy; Economic Policy; Financial Markets, Financial Institutions, and Fiscal Service; Financial Sanctions; and more.
Education Finance Statistics Center
The financial statistics in this report deal with the field of education.
Fed World
Fed World is a gateway page for the US Department of Commerce that provides access to more than 30 million government websites.
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
This website provides information about banking, markets, research and education. It also offers federal funds data, including interest rates.
Federal Reserve System
The Federal Reserve is the central banking system of the United States. Its website contains economic research and data, statistical releases, banking information and regulation and monetary policy.
House Financial Services Committee
The House Financial Services Committee oversees all components of the nation's housing and financial services sectors including banking, insurance, real estate, public and assisted housing and securities.
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
This website contains consumer and industry financial resources. The Department of Banking and Insurance seeks to regulate the banking, insurance and real estate industries.
New Jersey Taking Care of Business
This website focuses on helping businesses in New Jersey.
Security and Exchange Commission (SEC)
The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly and efficient markets and facilitate capital formation. EDGAR, the source of SEC reports, is located in this database.
US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis
This website, provided by the Bureau of Economic Analysis, provides a through analysis of national economic accounts, including Gross National Product (GNP) and other important indicators, as well as regional, international and industry accounts.
US Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI Program
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
US Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, LAUS Program
The Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas and many cities, by place of residence.
US Department of the Treasury, Public Debt Reports
This website provides information about investing in a variety of federal bonds.
US Senate Committee on Finance
The committee is the Senate counterpart to the House Financial Services Committee.

Finance: Domestic Exchanges

American Stock Exchange
Offers trading across a full range of equities, options and exchange traded funds (ETFs), including structured products and Holding Company Depository Receipts (HOLDRS).
Chicago Mercantile Exchange
CME Group is the world's leading and most diverse derivatives marketplace offering the widest range of futures and options products for risk management.
NASDAQ
Official website of NASDAQ, the largest electronic stock market in the United States.
New York Stock Exchange
This is the world’s largest exchange group for financial products and services. Its website provides information about real time markets, lists of funds and equities, regulatory news and publications. Amex data is available as well.

Finance: International Exchanges

Federation of European Securities Exchange (FESE)
The Federation of European Securities Exchanges (FESE) represents 35 exchanges in equities, bonds, derivatives and commodities through 20 full members from 29 countries, as well as 1 Affiliate Member and 1 Observer Member.
International Finance Corporation
The International Finance Corporation is part of the World Bank and administers some of its programs.
Nikkei Asian Review
Japan’s leading newspaper offers market coverage with a focus on Japan and Asia, business news, market data with the Nikkei index figures and the latest stock information from Tokyo.
Sedar
Access securities related information for Canadian companies.
Stock Exchanges-Worldwide Link
Listing of world’s major stock exchanges and other international exchange resources.
World Bank
The World Bank works with developing countries, providing financial and technical assistance.
World Federation of Exchanges
The World Federation of Exchanges is the global trade association for the operators of regulated financial exchanges.