Skip to Main Content

Library Education Resources

A Workshop for Graduate Education Students, with APA Citation Review

Deciding Where to Search


Education-Specific Databases

Database Platform Description Access
ERIC via Ebsco EBSCO ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.8 million records and links to more than 400,000 full-text articles and documents dating from 1966 to the present.
The EBSCO version of ERIC provides an easier integration with full text from other databases, in a familiar searching experience. However, it may not be as fully up to date with the most recently added records as the IES version.
Subscription
ERIC via IES ERIC.ED.GOV ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.8 million records and links to more than 400,000 full-text articles and documents dating from 1966 to the present.
The IES version of ERIC will link to full text contained within the ERIC database, but does not link out to full text the library may have access to via its subscription databases. The IES version may be more fully up to date with the most recently added records than the EBSCO version.
Public Access
Education Source EBSCO Education Source is EBSCO's most comprehensive database of education literature. It includes 846 full text, non open-access journals, plus it incorporates over 500 open access journals. Some full text, peer-reviewed journals are provided with an embargo, meaning that the most recent year's articles are not available full text. Subscription
Education Database ProQuest Education Database is a subset of ProQuest's massive aggregated database, ProQuest Central. It includes over 1,000 full text journals and 18,000 dissertations, covering all levels of education, the theory and practice of education, special education, home schooling, and hundreds of related topics. Subscription

Multidisciplinary Databases / Cross-Searching

Database Platform Description Access
Cyclone Search EBSCO Cyclone Search is TML's discovery search tool, reaching across both physical and digital materials. It includes all of our print collection and much (though not all) of our digital subscriptions. Advantages to searching Cyclone Search are that you cover a lot of ground with one search, and potentially save time. Though this also works as a disadvantage in some cases, in that some content or providers can get lost in a large search result set. Subscription
ProQuest Central ProQuest ProQuest Central is a vast, multidisciplinary database, made up of a number of subsets or smaller databases (including Education Database). It covers nearly any discipline and contains a variety of formats - though it contains a substantial number of scholarly journals, ProQuest Central is also a great place to find dissertations and theses, and newspaper articles. Subscription
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) ProQuest The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) ™ database is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities. Subscription
JSTOR JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources related to Arts, Humanities, and Sciences, with over 150 education-specific journals. Subscription

Additional databases listed on Education Subject Guide and Databases A-Z page